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July 2019

What does SEO mean?

Two Men Planning a Website's SEO on a Clear Whiteboard

SEO is short for Search Engine Optimization. SEO is the process of driving traffic to your website from search engines through organic search engine results. The idea is to drive quality traffic in high quantities to your website. There are a variety of SEO techniques that are used to enhance the ranking of a website in search engine results pages. We will talk more about these techniques throughout this article.

How exactly does SEO work?

Search engines have crawlers that gather information from content all across the internet. These crawlers use algorithms to match data with your website. It is a fairly complex system with a lot of factors involved when it comes to the sorting of websites on search engines. Keep this in mind: user-friendly websites will usually rank higher if the search engine decides that the site is easy to read and navigate.

SEO vs. SEM

When it comes down to it, you have Search Engine Optimization (SEO) and Search Engine Marketing (SEM). The key difference here is that SEO concepts revolve around organic results – in other words, these are free search results. SEM uses paid services, such as Pay-Per-Click (PPC) advertising. Basically, you are paying the search engines to increase the visibility of your website when you use SEM. It all comes down to the approach of your business – either organic SEO or paying for services with SEM.

What is Organic Click-Through Rate?

Organic Click-Through Rate is the percentage of searchers that click on a search engine result. In other words, it shows you how often a person will click on your search result after it is viewed. There are many techniques that a Search Engine Optimization company can implement that will help improve organic click-through rates. We will talk more about that in the next section below.

What is a Search Engine Optimization Company?

A Search Engine Optimization company can help businesses improve their SEO strategies to better position themselves on search engine rankings. It often requires changes to content, images, coding and other pieces of a company website to improve SEO results. An SEO service is complete with SEO professionals who can properly analyze a company website to implement the necessary changes that will improve the visibility of a website.

What are Structured Snippets?

Structured snippets are ad extensions that allow you to highlight aspects of your product or service. These can basically give your customers a preview of what your business has to offer before they even click on the link. The goal is to entice people to click on the link to learn more. Utilizing structured snippets can help drastically improve your click-through rates.

What is the Purpose of a Google Analytics Report?

A Google Analytics report is a free web analytics service that gives you in-depth detail about the visitors that come to your website. This valuable tool will help you understand where visitors click, how long they stay and other aspects related to their visit. Using this report will help you better shape the strategy of your website if you notice particular weaknesses that show up in the reports.

Why is Web Marketing so Important?

Marketing your business online requires the use of search engines, social media, videos, email, blogging and other such online tools. Fortunately, these efforts allow you to reach a large audience. While you can certainly focus your marketing efforts locally in Boise, web marketing makes it easier to expand your services across the nation. For this reason, web marketing is essential to the modern business. In order to successfully market your business online, it is important to focus on website optimization. Along with SEO techniques, it is important to design your website content in ways that will ensure that it is clear, concise, and relevant to your products or services.

What is Web Design?

A computer with a Yellow Couch

Web design is the process of conceptualizing, planning and building a website that delivers a user-friendly experience to your page visitors. Web design and development requires the cohesiveness of many components in order to deliver a high quality website to your visitors. Some of these components include the website layout, graphics, colors, images, text styles and other interactive features.

What is the Role of a Web Design Company?

A web design company serves as an expert in creating web sites that are unique and customizable to the needs of any business. Web design services will utilize their professional expertise to build a website that is distinctive to a particular brand. All the while, the idea is to ensure that your website is easy to navigate; this goal is achieved through the use of a well-designed layout and other interactive features that allow your page visitors to receive all of the relevant information related to your product(s) or service(s).

Why Should You Use a Web Design Company?

Digital marketing is growing every day and it is essential for your company to have an online presence. 97% of business owners said that and online reputation management is important to their business. A web design company will create and maintain a positive reputation for your company. Here are just a few simple ways a web design company can expand your clientele while keeping a positive image of your company:

  • Creating a social media presence for your brand that is unique
  • Creating a customized website built to fit the style of your brand
  • Being added to Google Maps so customers can find information on your business from multiple platforms.
  • Access to SEO which will increase the number of visitors that click on your profile
  • Consistently updating content on your profile

These are just a few examples of what digital marketing can do for a company overall. Web design companies possess all the tools needed to get your company on the map and maintain a positive reputation. Whether you are in the local Boise area or miles away, Social Eyes Marketing can create that unique image that your company needs.

What are the Benefits of a Simple Web Design?

A simple web design allows your page visitors to absorb the information on your website without being overwhelmed by convoluted content. Here are some tips to help maintain a simple web design:

  • Remove large sections of complex terminology (readers tend to skim past large chunks of text).
  • Create navigation menus to allow visitors to easily get around your website.
  • Utilize imagery and color schemes that match your brand.
  • Implement a call-to-action in key places that make sense within your website design (be careful not to overdo it with too many call-to-actions).
  • Don’t be afraid of white space. Visitors don’t want everything crammed into one section. Spread out your information so that your content is visually appealing. Tall pages with one-column layouts help lessen the clutter to allow your visitors to easily take in the information on your website.

What is Responsive Web Design?

Responsive design is when a website is created with the ability to respond or resize itself depending on the type of device that is being used by the page visitor. In today’s world of varying mobile devices, responsive design is a crucial aspect of any organization’s website because it gives the website a flexible layout. No matter what device your visitor uses to access your web site, a responsive design will make sure everything looks and functions perfectly.

How can you Best Promote your Website?

A high-quality website can only serve its purpose if people have easy access to the website. This is where Search Engine Optimization (SEO) comes into play. There are many SEO techniques that will help improve the visibility of a website on search engines. In addition to these SEO techniques, a web design company will also ensure that your web site is coded in a way that search engines can read.

For those who are looking to learn more about SEO, here are some quick how-to SEO tips that can help improve upon your web design and development skills:

Provide links to outside websites with relevant content.
Partner with other businesses that are willing to put your website link on their websites.
Know the right keywords that are relevant to your business. Make sure these keywords are used throughout your website.
Write unique meta descriptions for your website to help set your content apart from the competition.
Assign keywords to your image descriptions.
Publish unique content (start by creating a blog).

How should a Beginner Approach Web Design?

For those who are unfamiliar with the skills and knowledge required to carry out web design, it is best to contact a web design company for professional assistance with your company’s website. Web design services are complete with experienced web designers who understand today’s trends and analytics that affect the design of the modern website. For these reasons, web design services are your safest bet to ensure that your website is SEO enabled, visually appealing, user-friendly, interactive and easy to navigate.

What is PPC Advertising and How Does it Work?

A person building a website on a computer

PPC stands for pay-per-click. PPC advertising is an internet advertising model that helps drive traffic to websites by charging an advertiser to pay a fee whenever the ad is clicked. In today’s competitive online marketplace, PPC marketing is an increasingly popular tool that many companies are utilizing to boost their online marketing efforts.

What is Google AdWords?

Google AdWords is one of the most popular forms of PPC marketing methods on the market. This is an online marketing platform where advertisers pay to display brief advertisements, service offerings, product listings, and video content within the Google ad network. If you have ever seen those ads that show up at the top or side of your screen, those are most likely Google ads.

How to Advertise on Google

Fortunately, advertising on Google is a fairly simple process, though it can take a long time to master. However, by utilizing Google Ads you put yourself in the position to advertise your business to reach thousands, if not millions of people. As we mentioned earlier, it all starts with the Google AdWords platform.

How to Use Google AdWords

Here are the steps to help you use Google AdWords:

  • Sign up for a Google AdWords account.
  • Define your daily budget. You will specify on average how much you would like to pay. You are only charged when someone clicks on your ad.
  • Specify your geographical location.
  • Choose between a Search Network and Display Network. Beginners will usually want to go with the Search Network. Ads will be shown to those who are searching for keywords related to your business.
  • Pick out your keywords. You can choose around 20 keywords that will allow your ad to pop up when someone types in those words in relation to your geographical location.
  • Select the amount of money that you are willing to pay per click.
  • Create your Google Ad.

What is CTR?

CTR stands for click-through rate. CTR is a ratio that shows you how often people click on your ad after they see it. CTR is a good tool to help you understand if your keywords and ads are working well or not. Increasing your company’s CTR should always be an ongoing initiative!

What is PPC Management?

PPC Management is when a marketer oversees a company’s PPC strategy. A PPC manager will make sure that your PPC campaign is effective and properly implemented to meet the needs of your business. PPC services will provide ongoing support and strategy to combine keywords, ad messaging and other components to increase your CTR.

What is Conversion Rate?

The conversion rate is the percentage of visitors who come to your website and complete a specific task. For example, this task could be filling out a form or completing an online sale. It all depends on what you need out of your site visitors to define your conversion. At the end of the day, you want that conversion rate to be as high as possible. If it’s a high percentage, then your website is functioning well in a way that gets your customers to achieve the goal that you are attempting to achieve.

What is Return on Ad Spend?

Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) is a marketing formula that tells you the amount of revenue that is generated for every dollar spent on your particular advertising method. The formula looks like this: (Revenue/Spend) = Return on Ad Spend.

What is Customer Acquisition Cost?

Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) is another helpful formula that will give you an idea of what your business is spending on its marketing efforts. You simply divide your marketing expenses by the number of customers that were acquired during that time period. For example, if you spend $500 and you get 500 customers, then the CAC is $1.

Putting it all Together

A good PPC strategy takes a combination of the components that we talked about here in this article. Implementing tools such as Google AdWords, and following up with measurement, monitoring, and management through analytics will help drive more traffic to your company’s website.

Must Know Brand Marketing 101 for Startups and Entrepreneurs

A man lettering in a notebook

Starting a business can be an incredibly exciting experience. One mistake though is getting overexcited and forgetting about the basics, including brand marketing. A strong brand is vital for any company. It is how you are perceived and judged by anyone that views your business. Here’s how you can start off your brand marketing.

Make your brand stand out

One way to do is read up on the subject and get your hands on a guide to everything you need to know about branding. Branding is big and critical for your startup business so pay heed to professional advice.
Most professionals will tell you that by marketing yourself as a personal brand you are letting potential customers immediately know who you are and who they can trust. On the flip side, if you bungle up and market yourself poorly, it will lead to poor branding and misrepresentation of your business. That’s why it’s important to know what qualities you have that makes you stand out.
Another way to learn is observe and analyze famous brands. For example think of Disney, you’d immediately think of child-friendly movies. The same goes with Intel with high-quality computing equipment, Gillette with affordable razors and Rolex with luxury watches. There is more to these brands than what they sell.

Market to your niche

What’s common about those brands is that they know what type of product sells and who they’re marketing to. Disney wouldn’t advertise outside of a nightclub, Gillette wouldn’t market themselves as a luxury brand and Rolex wouldn’t have a stall in a convenience store.
It’s important to identify who you are and what your brand stands for. This can take some detailed research and patience. Trying to find your unique selling point (USP) is vital, especially if you have a small marketing budget. It’s important to note that winning a small targeted group of people is better than trying to swim and survive in a sea of unknown population.

Combine your brand with marketing

Your brand and your marketing are two separate aspects but are strongly bonded. You have to market with your brand in mind, and you have to develop your brand thinking about how you are going to market it.
So if you market without considering your brand you are going to risk confusing your customers. You need to create a marketing strategy that everyone can buy into in order to give yourself a consistent message across all platforms.

Don’t send mixed brand messages

Today, there are more ways to market your brand than ever before.
Your logo design and name are important so make sure you get them seen across as many platforms as possible. Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn are great tools to start with.
Your website can also be vital, as will any app that you have. Blogging is a great way to educate and convince your customers of your brand’s authority, and help your website show on search engines.
Across all these platforms, you want to make sure that you are marketing your brand message consistently in order to start growing your business with a solid foundation.

Final thoughts

Your brand is a powerful piece of intellectual property and you need to protect it at all cost. One bad marketing move and you could cause damage that could take awhile to recover. So pay heed to building your brand from ground zero.

Guest Author Bio
Bill Watson is a digital strategist whose passion is to promote startups and small businesses via online media. He loves creative tattoo designs, dogs and lots of coffee. Connect with him here.