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3 Myths About Social Media Marketing

A woman with a laptop on her desk with a coffee in one hand and her phone in another. She has Facebook open on her phone.

3 Myths About Social Media Marketing

Recommended Read: Social Media Predictions for 2019

Why Social Media?

Social media overall plays a huge role in our society everyday. Social media is how you find restaurants to eat at, places to shop at, and a place you can make connections. Not only is social media a huge game changer in the digital media marketing world but it also can be a factor in your day to day life as well. Just in the year of 2019 there are over 3.2 billion users in the world daily. Social media allows you to market to multiple age demographics. Using platforms like Snapchat, Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook are just a few examples of how you can reach a variety of audiences with social media.
The majority of people love social media, while others are still very skeptical about it. With that being said, social media marketing overall has some myths that people believe. Find out why they are not true by reading below!

Myth #1

In order to have a successful presence on social media you have to be located on all social media platforms.
This is not necessarily true. When it comes to your business the only platforms you need to be on are the ones that relate to your message the most. Instagram is all about photos and videos which would work best for companies trying to best show off their products.
Spending more time on one or two social media platforms will allow for better content overall. Focusing on one or two platforms you can put more effort into making those platforms the best they can be. After mastering one platform, hiring a digital marketing company will help expand your company from one platform to two platforms and then to multiple platforms that are all up to date with content that is unique to your company.

Myth #2

The customers I want to market towards don’t use social media.
This is not necessarily true. Social media is used by ages ranging from about 13 to 80 years old, you just have to know what platforms reach the best audience for your product or service. Certain platforms are used by older generations (Facebook) whereas others are used by younger generations (Snapchat, TikTok). You just have to decide who your audience is and that will determine what platforms will best work for you.
People tend to assume that older generations are not on social media platforms but in reality, there are tons of older generation customers that use social media you just have to know which platforms they are using. Facebook is one of the most popular social media platforms for people aged between 50 and 70 years old. If that is your target market, then you need to be marketing your company on that specific platform over other platforms.

Myth #3

Using the same post on every social media platform is most effective.
You need to create ads or posts based on the platform itself because each platform is aimed towards a different audience. Digital media marketing companies will create ads and keep up to date with posts for you that are based towards the correct audience. With access to the tools needed to create these different posts it will make it easier on you as a business in the end if you take advantage of those resources that a marketing company has to offer you.

Finding a Local Marketing Company

Digital marketing companies in Boise are few and far between. At Social Eyes we specialize in a variety of marketing areas including social media marketing. In fact, we do it all! Be sure to give a call if you’ve gained some inspiration for marketing on social media, and need some help getting it started.

TikTok vs. Instagram Reels: The Competition Heats Up

A yellow background and a black iPhone with the TikTok logo on it and earbuds plugged in.

TikTok vs. Instagram Reels: The Competition Heats Up

Move Aside TikTok, Here Comes Reels

Instagram has been on an upward climb since it’s launch in 2010. Facebook quickly caught on and purchased Instagram just 18 months after its launch. Now, there is a new competitor in the social media world. TikTok. As you may already know, ByteDance decided to merge Musical.ly and TikTok making it one single app called TikTok. Now TikTok claims that they have 500 million active users, and over a billion downloads. With its rise in popularity, it wasn’t long until Instagram hopped aboard the social media trend train.

TikToks Rise

TikTok allows users to create short videos usually 15-30 seconds long. There isn’t anything particularly outstanding about these videos, they can be about anything. The most common videos you will find on TikTok are of people dancing, singing, or lip-syncing to songs. These songs change almost weekly depending upon what is trending. It is a very fast-paced app, with a new trend catching fire within 3 days. TikTok also allows users to follow others and receive updates on when they post a new video. Popular creators can be found posting up to 3 TikTok videos a day.

TikTok Tutorial Video Below:

TikToks Appeal

It comes as no surprise that the early adopters of the app fall in the age range of 16-24 years old. Since it has become so popular among this age group, users are making an effort to become “TikTok famous” among their peers at school. People like Charli D’Amelio and Loren Gray have gained millions of followers in the blink of an eye. Their rise to fame happened so quickly that others are now trying to compete or “make fun” of the instantaneous “clout” they receive from using TikTok.
Do you think there’s the possibility of people becoming Instagram “Reel famous”?
While there were some early TikTok adopters older than 24, its popularity among that demographic didn’t become well known until a little while later. Nowadays, you will notice older users on the app more frequently. As time goes on, users can expect to see more diverse age groups in videos.

Instagram Notices

Really? It didn’t take long for another competitor to want a slice of the pie. Instagram announced its new Reels feature with hopes that it will compete with the already popular TikTok. Reels are pretty much the same idea where users can take short videos of themselves or of other things in 15 seconds. You can then share these videos on your story and potentially land on the “Top Reels” page.

Check Out This Demo by Techcrunch:


Look familiar?

Will You Use Both?

With Instagram already being an industry leader in the social media world, do you think they should step aside and let TikTok have its moment? Instagram has been known to adapt to user needs with the integration of “Instagram Stories” as a response to Snapchat. Now they are finding a new area they can grow in with through the introduction of Reels.
Instagram has already changed the way businesses market to consumers. Digital marketing companies are constantly adapting and looking for new ways to reach audiences. It’s predicted that over 75% of businesses will use Instagram in 2020.
You’ve probably already noticed the ads on TikTok. It will be interesting to see if those will grow more prevalent or if businesses will find a new way to market themselves through the app.

Conclusion

If anything, TikTok is still a very relevant and growing social media app. It’s not surprising that Instagram feels a little threatened. Come 2020 it will be interesting to see where the pendulum swings, if users will continue to use TikTok, or if they will move over to Instagram Reels.
What’s appealing about Instagram Reels is that it is a feature within the Instagram app. Therefore, you can post photos and TikTok-like videos using one app. You won’t have to download a bunch of social media apps if Instagram will just combine them all.
Businesses are slower to adapt, and ads can really drive away users. Marketing on TikTok will have to be very clever and well-executed so that it looks more natural to the everyday user. As a Digital Marketing Company in Boise, we are always looking for new opportunities and ways to market to the masses through social media. As expected, we will be keeping a close eye on Instagram Reels and how TikTok evolves to combat it.

Social Media Marketing

Social Eyes is a Boise marketing company that offers a variety of services like web design, web development, social media marketing, and video production. If you’re curious about reaching a target audience through the use of social media give us a call!

Reap What You Sow: Why Good SEO Is Like Gardening

A laptop with SEO on the screen

SEO, or Search Engine Optimization, is the key to business success in the digital age – but we don’t need to tell you that. Any marketer knows that getting your site to the top of results pages is a tricky task and yet one that always delivers. So, what is the secret to mastering these three little letters? And how on earth is it like gardening?

Recommended reading: Why Your Small Local Business Needs A Website

Mary, Mary, quite contrary… how good is your SEO?

You should always begin with keywords, the simplest ingredient of SEO when considering your content. Think of them as the seeds to grow your garden of success. Instead of picking the right plants for the right soil, you’re choosing the right words and phrases for the right audience. Ask yourself the following questions:

  • Who is your audience?
  • What information do they want?
  • How do they search for it?
  • In what format do they want it?

Knowing the answers to these questions will allow you to connect with the people who are searching for your solutions, and it all starts with keyword research. This process, whilst intensive, is crucial for your SEO success.

Thankfully, there are plenty of online keyword research tools you can use to streamline your keyword research.

One of the most popular SEO research sites, Moz.com, boasts a free research tool with over 500 million keywords. This helps you discover the average search volume for certain words and phrases or alternative, less competitive keywords.

Seasons and competitors

You would never plant sunflower seeds in the middle of winter, would you? They just wouldn’t thrive at that time of year. In the same way, you need to adapt your SEO as the seasons change.

Your audience will be searching for different things in different months, and your keywords need to reflect this. For example, if you’re offering a limited-time deal or product for the festive season, it’s useful to know that Christmas-related Google searches spike in volume from October through to December.

A little preparation goes a long way: you can prepare yuletide content months in advance, then give it a big push at the right time.
Sunflowers are not only a summer plant, but they also shouldn’t be grown in close proximity to one another as they won’t reach their full potential. Similarly, if your webpage is overcrowded by your competitors on a results page, you won’t achieve the highest volume of traffic.

There are two different strategies to combat this: target the keywords which are used less and therefore have less competition, or deliberately use the same words that have been successful for your competitors and make your content better. The former takes advantage of their missed opportunities, whilst the latter is a more aggressive approach.

Creepy crawlers

Crawlers may sound like something you don’t want in a garden, but when it comes to SEO you definitely do. They are bots used by search engines that scour the internet, scanning billions of webpages for links, keywords, website freshness and more.

Once the information has been collected, it is indexed, which makes it searchable for users. Google’s search index contains hundreds of billions of web pages and is well over 100,000,000 gigabytes in size.

Optimizing your environment

A crawler-friendly website isn’t just about good, keyword-heavy content. It also needs to be formatted correctly. This includes:

In your garden, consider this providing your plants with the right environment to flourish; canes for the sunflowers to cling to and prevent them from wilting, for example. Correctly formatted web pages hosted by a trustworthy provider allow crawlers to easily index your site.

Pruning the dead leaves

Just as forgetting to deadhead your flowers will detract from the living blooms, allowing content on your webpage to grow outdated is an SEO no-no.

If your ‘latest news’ is from two months ago, or the ‘monthly special’ expired weeks ago, you will be giving your audience a bad impression and they are not likely to stick around.

Showing that your website is on top of its content and can communicate well will earn you repeat visits.

SEO expert Cyrus Shepard recommends that when you update a link on your website, you should also update the text around it. This way, search engine crawlers will detect bigger changes to your page, deeming it to be fresh.

Bring in the backup

If all else fails, you can always enlist professional help. Imagine you’d given your garden all the nurture you could, yet it still wasn’t yielding the results you wanted. You have some spare capital, so you decide to invest it by employing a gardener.

SEO agencies are the landscapers of the digital marketing world. They are experts in their field and can offer you audits, content and more to direct traffic to your site. Social Eyes Marketing, for instance, offers expert SEO knowledge that will help you hone your website to Google’s exacting standards.

This option is perfect if you’re serious about SEO as a marketing channel. While it’s not a necessity, getting in an expert gardener to sort your website’s garden out is well worth it for the return on your investment.

Reaping the rewards

So, how is good SEO like gardening? It’s really quite simple: you reap what you sow. Love your garden – sorry, website – and it will love you back.

Plant the correct seeds (keywords), at the right time and in the right place. Make it crawler-friendly by perfecting your environment. Prune away what is old and unnecessary, and don’t be afraid to bring in the professionals if you need to.

Nurture your SEO and your traffic will flourish. By using the right tools and expertise, you’ll be left with a bountiful result.

If You’re (Not Already) Reading This: 5 Books For Market-Minded Thinkers in 2019

Lady reading book about marketing

Hopefully, 2019 has been a year of growth, prosperity, and innovation. That being said, we look to develop within the world of digital marketing by learning from and alongside others. Where some learn best by workshopping ideas with others or testing through trial-and-error on their own, books can also offer an incredible opportunity for reflection and revival.

We also understand that not all books are created equally. Different authors, different styles, different perspectives. That is the beauty of books, though. There is one for everyone. Check out some of our marketing favorites to help you tap into your next level of success.

1. For Building Culture Among Your Marketing Team

Marketing elements and marketing experts are not all the same. Marketing teams are composed of many different specialists whose expertise is significant to the process. In order to make the most out of your team in their tasks as well as their commitment, you need to create a culture that can do both. Alina Wheeler’s Designing Brand Identity (2017) offers just that and more. Allegedly, Wheeler has composed the Holy Grail for marketing professionals. With extensive research, accessible presentation, and integration of constructive soft skills, Wheeler has wrapped up a strong base for marketers to build upon.

2. For the Future of Marketing

In the digital world we live in marketing is a must. In order to succeed and surpass goals, businesses, organizations, and companies need to integrate the framework of intentional marketing into their regular practices. That is, if these businesses are not going to rely on a professional marketing agency for the heavy lifting. Joe Pulizzi and Robert Rose’s book, Killing Marketing (2017), champions this concept that content is king in today’s world. They reflect on the former standards and incoming trends in order to address what they think are the new institutions of marketing.

3. For Thinking Outside of the Box

Are you experiencing an overload of information? Overwhelmed by the mass amount of content? You’re not alone. Norwegian philanthropist and serial entrepreneur, Jørn Lyseggen, has dedicated a book to media insights based on his lofty career in media intelligence. The book, Outside Insight (2016), extends bottom-up perspectives to transform the way your company operates with innovative analyses. With examples from Apple, Facebook, and even former President Barack Obama, there’s something to be learned regardless of your industry.

4. For the Psychology of Marketing

If you enjoyed Michael Lewis’s work with Moneyball (2003) and The Big Short (2010), we have another strong option for you from him. The Undoing Project (2016) is another piece of literature focusing on behavioral economics much like Lewis’s two other books-turned-motion-pictures. This work peeks into the mind of psychologists; Daniel Kahneman and Amos Tversky whose research was focused on judgment and decision-making heuristics. Simply put, Lewis parallels their expertise in metacognition (thinking about thinking) with the nature of their professional partnership. Lewis manages to keep things engaging and on-brand by incorporating his background in market inefficiencies into a story about the ups and downs of two men working together across nearly 30 years. The New York Times even quoted Tversky in its review of the book: “It is sometimes easier to make the world a better place than to prove you have made the world a better place.” Fortunately, Lewis does just that on their behalf.

For those of us in the marketing industry, this might seem a little obscure to read. However, we all could improve upon our interpersonal skills in the workplace. Thinking about biases, risks, decision-making, happiness, quality of life, and even human rationality gives you an edge to better support yourself, your associates, your clients, and your organization in the long run.

5. For a Light Read on Things You Wouldn’t Expect in Business

With a blog by the same name, Eric Barker’s Barking Up The Wrong Tree (2017) unearths some lesser cited realities within the world of business. While he isn’t referring to things specific to marketing, some of the generic practices we find in our marketing world are flipped on their head in Barker’s book. This book is more or less a guide to understanding why we cling to certain ideals as well as how we can evolve into new ones that actually get us to where we want in our careers. Forbes even interviewed the young writer on his perspectives, career advice, and fun facts (from proven research) on what motivates the most successful individuals.

There are a few months left in the year and we are spending more time indoors with the temperatures creeping closer to freezing. Why not spend some time reading up on ideas from some of the foremost innovators in the marketing industry and beyond.

Become Anything but Meek with This Trend Report

Insights for the Fall from Mary Meeker’s 2019 Internet Trends Report

The summer is a peak season for digital and internet specialists. While we don’t normally associate these warm months and hot sunny days with the technology industry, there is an almost overwhelming amount of conferences, conventions, and information releases that take place. Fortunately, we can spend the beautiful summer days to sift through all of these details for application and practice during the remainder of the year.

One of the biggest names in the world of internet technology is that of venture capitalist, Mary Meeker. She is most known for her annual ‘Internet Trends Report’. Based on its reliable track record in anticipating trends in marketing, stocks, purchasing, and internet usage, It is released every summer.

For those of you who don’t use Meeker’s name on a daily basis, we’ll give you a quick rundown on the “Queen of the Internet”.

Who Is Mary Meeker?

There isn’t a shortlist of Mary Meeker’s career highlights because, arguably, every step of her career has generously impacted the industry. Some of her foremost achievements are:

  • 1981 DePauw University B.S.
  • 1986 Cornell University M.B.A.
  • Merrill Lynch stockbroker
  • Morgan Stanley analyst
  • Annual ‘Internet Trends Report’ beginning in 1995
  • Lead Management Team for Google IPO in 2004
  • Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers partner from 2010-2018
  • Executive Board member for Docusign, Square Inc., and Lending Club
  • Released ‘USA Inc.’ government business analysis in 2011
  • Founder and partner of venture capitalist firm, Bond Capital, since 2018

In her Internet Trends Reports, Meeker has also supported the now-proven success of the following stocks: Dell, Microsoft, Intuit, Netscape, AOL, Amazon, Yahoo, eBay, and Google.

2019 Trend Breakdown

While much of Meeker’s analysis is centered around statistics and information, she does release her own educated assumptions and predictions based on the hard facts she gathers. Fortunately, for us, this leaves us with information that can track what will be best for you, your consumers, and your partners.

Based on her research, these are six of the biggest trends within the realm of digital marketing:

  1. 51% of the world was active on the internet in 2018
  2. One-quarter of adults were “almost constantly online”
  3. Images are driving online communications; over half of Twitter impressions involve images
  4. Internet ad spending increased by 22% in 2018
  5. American digital media usage increased 7%, an average of 6.3 hours per day
  6. Advertising is an increasingly expertised area due to a rise in industry regulation

Application within the Industry

With these key insights from Meeker’s 2019 report, the industry cannot only address the needs of the consumers but also improve the market for your business. Understanding user outreach, engagement, and retention to adapt current practices will boost your business’s success and longevity.

New precedents have been set based on the statistics mentioned. Look into the best ways to integrate this information into your strategy, whether that’s through high-quality photos, targeted videos, intentional branding, or another aspect of digital marketing. Operating with the trend application in mind will not only improve profits but can also provide heightened accessibility measures for new and existing market segments.

As Meeker addressed, the marketing industry is becoming more specialized and expert-oriented. Don’t settle for ‘good enough’ when there are digital marketing experts out there with the knowledge and know-how to get you in front of the right audience.

How to Differentiate Yourself from Competitors

A cluster of Lightbulbs, one being lit to be different

“Risk more than others think is safe. Dream more than others think is practical.”
— Howard Schultz, CEO of Starbucks

A business is built on an idea. This idea is what drives our risk. Stand out from the rest, don’t be afraid.

Be Different

The way your business is portrayed to the public relative to your competitors is a constant battle for any small business. Most people expect to gain traction right away, some businesses are even making ditch efforts to go “viral” with any sort of content they have. In the marketing world, not only do marketing agencies have to market for their clients, but they also must be consistent marketing themselves. Here are some tips on how marketing businesses differentiate themselves from the rest:

1. Don’t be too Broad

One way to stand out from the rest is to be an expert in one area. You may find that this one area is what is lacking across the board for other marketing companies. It’s better to be excellent at one thing, than mediocre at everything. If your business can pump out some high-quality results, then you can build a loyal client base on one factor, and then you can offer more features down the road.

2. Read the Reviews

It’s easy to put up the curtain and focus on what only you think is best for your business. However, there are many other people out there who have their opinions and are not afraid to share them. Especially in social media marketing, it is important to make a connection with your audience and clients. Building this relationship maintains your reputation and shows that you care what others think. If you can find your strengths and weaknesses through the use of reviews and client feedback, then you are on the right track for finding your area of strength.

3. Stir the Pot

As the quote mentions, risk more than others think is safe. This tip takes some more courage and willpower to stand above others. Being different in a controversial way has been a tactic used by a lot of companies such as Gillette. With their recent ad they may have lost out on some customers, but they built loyalty with others that share the same values they do. Sometimes digging into the heart of your business’s values will spark controversy, but in the end, it will reassure you that your business is making noise above the rest.

4. Emphasize Uniqueness

Try emphasizing your companies’ value through unique offers or catchphrases. Sometimes this can be environmentally friendly initiatives, high-quality equipment, or special offers. Whatever your marketing business does to stand out from the rest is a great focus to push. When you push this uniqueness people will begin to catch on to your repetition. This can prove to be a great way to differentiate yourself from other marketing agencies. If you offer something, no matter how small, that your competitors don’t, then customers are driven to engage with your business more.

The Sea of Marketing

The word “marketing” is a very broad term alone, so it can be just as hard to be a unique marketing agency. Boise marketing agencies are gaining more traction due substantial population growth, but they are also facing challenges differentiating themselves from each other. If you think it’s hard for a marketing agency in Boise Idaho, imagine how it is in larger cities. Hopefully, you’ve gained some inspiration or motivation to stand out from the crowd in this flooded market. Market your values, your beliefs, and build a business that attracts that type of audience.

What does SEO mean?

Two Men Planning a Website's SEO on a Clear Whiteboard

SEO is short for Search Engine Optimization. SEO is the process of driving traffic to your website from search engines through organic search engine results. The idea is to drive quality traffic in high quantities to your website. There are a variety of SEO techniques that are used to enhance the ranking of a website in search engine results pages. We will talk more about these techniques throughout this article.

How exactly does SEO work?

Search engines have crawlers that gather information from content all across the internet. These crawlers use algorithms to match data with your website. It is a fairly complex system with a lot of factors involved when it comes to the sorting of websites on search engines. Keep this in mind: user-friendly websites will usually rank higher if the search engine decides that the site is easy to read and navigate.

SEO vs. SEM

When it comes down to it, you have Search Engine Optimization (SEO) and Search Engine Marketing (SEM). The key difference here is that SEO concepts revolve around organic results – in other words, these are free search results. SEM uses paid services, such as Pay-Per-Click (PPC) advertising. Basically, you are paying the search engines to increase the visibility of your website when you use SEM. It all comes down to the approach of your business – either organic SEO or paying for services with SEM.

What is Organic Click-Through Rate?

Organic Click-Through Rate is the percentage of searchers that click on a search engine result. In other words, it shows you how often a person will click on your search result after it is viewed. There are many techniques that a Search Engine Optimization company can implement that will help improve organic click-through rates. We will talk more about that in the next section below.

What is a Search Engine Optimization Company?

A Search Engine Optimization company can help businesses improve their SEO strategies to better position themselves on search engine rankings. It often requires changes to content, images, coding and other pieces of a company website to improve SEO results. An SEO service is complete with SEO professionals who can properly analyze a company website to implement the necessary changes that will improve the visibility of a website.

What are Structured Snippets?

Structured snippets are ad extensions that allow you to highlight aspects of your product or service. These can basically give your customers a preview of what your business has to offer before they even click on the link. The goal is to entice people to click on the link to learn more. Utilizing structured snippets can help drastically improve your click-through rates.

What is the Purpose of a Google Analytics Report?

A Google Analytics report is a free web analytics service that gives you in-depth detail about the visitors that come to your website. This valuable tool will help you understand where visitors click, how long they stay and other aspects related to their visit. Using this report will help you better shape the strategy of your website if you notice particular weaknesses that show up in the reports.

Why is Web Marketing so Important?

Marketing your business online requires the use of search engines, social media, videos, email, blogging and other such online tools. Fortunately, these efforts allow you to reach a large audience. While you can certainly focus your marketing efforts locally in Boise, web marketing makes it easier to expand your services across the nation. For this reason, web marketing is essential to the modern business. In order to successfully market your business online, it is important to focus on website optimization. Along with SEO techniques, it is important to design your website content in ways that will ensure that it is clear, concise, and relevant to your products or services.

What is PPC Advertising and How Does it Work?

A person building a website on a computer

PPC stands for pay-per-click. PPC advertising is an internet advertising model that helps drive traffic to websites by charging an advertiser to pay a fee whenever the ad is clicked. In today’s competitive online marketplace, PPC marketing is an increasingly popular tool that many companies are utilizing to boost their online marketing efforts.

What is Google AdWords?

Google AdWords is one of the most popular forms of PPC marketing methods on the market. This is an online marketing platform where advertisers pay to display brief advertisements, service offerings, product listings, and video content within the Google ad network. If you have ever seen those ads that show up at the top or side of your screen, those are most likely Google ads.

How to Advertise on Google

Fortunately, advertising on Google is a fairly simple process, though it can take a long time to master. However, by utilizing Google Ads you put yourself in the position to advertise your business to reach thousands, if not millions of people. As we mentioned earlier, it all starts with the Google AdWords platform.

How to Use Google AdWords

Here are the steps to help you use Google AdWords:

  • Sign up for a Google AdWords account.
  • Define your daily budget. You will specify on average how much you would like to pay. You are only charged when someone clicks on your ad.
  • Specify your geographical location.
  • Choose between a Search Network and Display Network. Beginners will usually want to go with the Search Network. Ads will be shown to those who are searching for keywords related to your business.
  • Pick out your keywords. You can choose around 20 keywords that will allow your ad to pop up when someone types in those words in relation to your geographical location.
  • Select the amount of money that you are willing to pay per click.
  • Create your Google Ad.

What is CTR?

CTR stands for click-through rate. CTR is a ratio that shows you how often people click on your ad after they see it. CTR is a good tool to help you understand if your keywords and ads are working well or not. Increasing your company’s CTR should always be an ongoing initiative!

What is PPC Management?

PPC Management is when a marketer oversees a company’s PPC strategy. A PPC manager will make sure that your PPC campaign is effective and properly implemented to meet the needs of your business. PPC services will provide ongoing support and strategy to combine keywords, ad messaging and other components to increase your CTR.

What is Conversion Rate?

The conversion rate is the percentage of visitors who come to your website and complete a specific task. For example, this task could be filling out a form or completing an online sale. It all depends on what you need out of your site visitors to define your conversion. At the end of the day, you want that conversion rate to be as high as possible. If it’s a high percentage, then your website is functioning well in a way that gets your customers to achieve the goal that you are attempting to achieve.

What is Return on Ad Spend?

Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) is a marketing formula that tells you the amount of revenue that is generated for every dollar spent on your particular advertising method. The formula looks like this: (Revenue/Spend) = Return on Ad Spend.

What is Customer Acquisition Cost?

Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) is another helpful formula that will give you an idea of what your business is spending on its marketing efforts. You simply divide your marketing expenses by the number of customers that were acquired during that time period. For example, if you spend $500 and you get 500 customers, then the CAC is $1.

Putting it all Together

A good PPC strategy takes a combination of the components that we talked about here in this article. Implementing tools such as Google AdWords, and following up with measurement, monitoring, and management through analytics will help drive more traffic to your company’s website.

Must Know Brand Marketing 101 for Startups and Entrepreneurs

A man lettering in a notebook

Starting a business can be an incredibly exciting experience. One mistake though is getting overexcited and forgetting about the basics, including brand marketing. A strong brand is vital for any company. It is how you are perceived and judged by anyone that views your business. Here’s how you can start off your brand marketing.

Make your brand stand out

One way to do is read up on the subject and get your hands on a guide to everything you need to know about branding. Branding is big and critical for your startup business so pay heed to professional advice.
Most professionals will tell you that by marketing yourself as a personal brand you are letting potential customers immediately know who you are and who they can trust. On the flip side, if you bungle up and market yourself poorly, it will lead to poor branding and misrepresentation of your business. That’s why it’s important to know what qualities you have that makes you stand out.
Another way to learn is observe and analyze famous brands. For example think of Disney, you’d immediately think of child-friendly movies. The same goes with Intel with high-quality computing equipment, Gillette with affordable razors and Rolex with luxury watches. There is more to these brands than what they sell.

Market to your niche

What’s common about those brands is that they know what type of product sells and who they’re marketing to. Disney wouldn’t advertise outside of a nightclub, Gillette wouldn’t market themselves as a luxury brand and Rolex wouldn’t have a stall in a convenience store.
It’s important to identify who you are and what your brand stands for. This can take some detailed research and patience. Trying to find your unique selling point (USP) is vital, especially if you have a small marketing budget. It’s important to note that winning a small targeted group of people is better than trying to swim and survive in a sea of unknown population.

Combine your brand with marketing

Your brand and your marketing are two separate aspects but are strongly bonded. You have to market with your brand in mind, and you have to develop your brand thinking about how you are going to market it.
So if you market without considering your brand you are going to risk confusing your customers. You need to create a marketing strategy that everyone can buy into in order to give yourself a consistent message across all platforms.

Don’t send mixed brand messages

Today, there are more ways to market your brand than ever before.
Your logo design and name are important so make sure you get them seen across as many platforms as possible. Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn are great tools to start with.
Your website can also be vital, as will any app that you have. Blogging is a great way to educate and convince your customers of your brand’s authority, and help your website show on search engines.
Across all these platforms, you want to make sure that you are marketing your brand message consistently in order to start growing your business with a solid foundation.

Final thoughts

Your brand is a powerful piece of intellectual property and you need to protect it at all cost. One bad marketing move and you could cause damage that could take awhile to recover. So pay heed to building your brand from ground zero.

Guest Author Bio
Bill Watson is a digital strategist whose passion is to promote startups and small businesses via online media. He loves creative tattoo designs, dogs and lots of coffee. Connect with him here.

What is Branding and Brand Development?

An Organizer to plan the branding through brand development

What is Branding?

Brand development is the process that a company goes through to maintain a consistent level of quality, value and trust amongst consumers. It’s important to understand that branding does not occur over night. It takes time for customers to become familiar with a brand.

Branding your Business

As we mentioned earlier, brand development is a process that occurs over a long period of time. Think of some of the most famous brands that are out there – they developed their images over time by consistently delivering a product or service that can be trusted and valued by its customers.

Take a look at these how-to steps to help brand your business:

  • Know your audience. You need to understand your target audience before you build your brand.
  • Write a mission statement. Don’t just write down flashy statements that sound good. Develop a mission statement that will provide your brand with a purpose.
  • Get to know your competition. It never hurts to know what your competitors are doing. In doing so, you may be able to establish some ideas that will outshine the competition.
  • Create a logo. This task is a calculated art form. It takes a lot of time and research to land on the right logo for your business.
  • Develop a tagline and a message that will resonate with your target audience.

What does a Brand Development Agency do?

A brand development agency specializes in creating, improving and managing brands. Branding services can help grow your business by providing expert assistance in brand development that is often required in order to develop meaningful content that will engage your target customers.

A brand development agency will conduct thorough market research, focus groups, graphic designs, content development and other components that will build your brand. Here’s another thing to consider – an outsider’s perception on your brand will always carry a lot of weight. It’s this outside perception that helps create innovation with your branding strategy.

What are some Brand Development Strategies?

When it comes to branding your business, you have a wide variety of brand development strategies to choose from. Here are some of the most effective brand development strategies to consider:

  • Increase exposure. This is about getting your brand out there any way you can. Take on more projects in the community, advertise on social media, create a blog, and look for other creative ways to get your brand out there to the public.
  • Create a unique personality for your brand. Maybe it’s funny taglines? Or maybe you want to create more serious ads that resonate with an important social issue? Regardless, creating a brand personality will help you stand out amongst the competition.
  • Extend your brand. Use an existing brand name to help extend a new brand. This is helpful when you are launching a new product or service. You are using a trusted brand from the past to introduce a new brand. Customers will be more willing to consider the new brand when they see that it is attached to a brand that they already recognize.
  • Don’t forget about digital marketing. Utilizing online marketing through search engines, social media, videos, websites, blogs and more will always go a long way to help your branding development strategy. Remember, digital marketing is the most efficient way to reach the largest amount of customers.

Be Patient with Brand Development

If there’s one thing to keep in mind during this process, it’s this: be patient with branding. With the right brand development strategy in place, customers will come to trust your brand over time. Branding your business takes time and effort to continuously develop and maintain brand development strategies that have a positive impact on your target audience.