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TikTok vs. Instagram Reels: The Competition Heats Up

A yellow background and a black iPhone with the TikTok logo on it and earbuds plugged in.

TikTok vs. Instagram Reels: The Competition Heats Up

Move Aside TikTok, Here Comes Reels

Instagram has been on an upward climb since it’s launch in 2010. Facebook quickly caught on and purchased Instagram just 18 months after its launch. Now, there is a new competitor in the social media world. TikTok. As you may already know, ByteDance decided to merge Musical.ly and TikTok making it one single app called TikTok. Now TikTok claims that they have 500 million active users, and over a billion downloads. With its rise in popularity, it wasn’t long until Instagram hopped aboard the social media trend train.

TikToks Rise

TikTok allows users to create short videos usually 15-30 seconds long. There isn’t anything particularly outstanding about these videos, they can be about anything. The most common videos you will find on TikTok are of people dancing, singing, or lip-syncing to songs. These songs change almost weekly depending upon what is trending. It is a very fast-paced app, with a new trend catching fire within 3 days. TikTok also allows users to follow others and receive updates on when they post a new video. Popular creators can be found posting up to 3 TikTok videos a day.

TikTok Tutorial Video Below:

TikToks Appeal

It comes as no surprise that the early adopters of the app fall in the age range of 16-24 years old. Since it has become so popular among this age group, users are making an effort to become “TikTok famous” among their peers at school. People like Charli D’Amelio and Loren Gray have gained millions of followers in the blink of an eye. Their rise to fame happened so quickly that others are now trying to compete or “make fun” of the instantaneous “clout” they receive from using TikTok.
Do you think there’s the possibility of people becoming Instagram “Reel famous”?
While there were some early TikTok adopters older than 24, its popularity among that demographic didn’t become well known until a little while later. Nowadays, you will notice older users on the app more frequently. As time goes on, users can expect to see more diverse age groups in videos.

Instagram Notices

Really? It didn’t take long for another competitor to want a slice of the pie. Instagram announced its new Reels feature with hopes that it will compete with the already popular TikTok. Reels are pretty much the same idea where users can take short videos of themselves or of other things in 15 seconds. You can then share these videos on your story and potentially land on the “Top Reels” page.

Check Out This Demo by Techcrunch:


Look familiar?

Will You Use Both?

With Instagram already being an industry leader in the social media world, do you think they should step aside and let TikTok have its moment? Instagram has been known to adapt to user needs with the integration of “Instagram Stories” as a response to Snapchat. Now they are finding a new area they can grow in with through the introduction of Reels.
Instagram has already changed the way businesses market to consumers. Digital marketing companies are constantly adapting and looking for new ways to reach audiences. It’s predicted that over 75% of businesses will use Instagram in 2020.
You’ve probably already noticed the ads on TikTok. It will be interesting to see if those will grow more prevalent or if businesses will find a new way to market themselves through the app.

Conclusion

If anything, TikTok is still a very relevant and growing social media app. It’s not surprising that Instagram feels a little threatened. Come 2020 it will be interesting to see where the pendulum swings, if users will continue to use TikTok, or if they will move over to Instagram Reels.
What’s appealing about Instagram Reels is that it is a feature within the Instagram app. Therefore, you can post photos and TikTok-like videos using one app. You won’t have to download a bunch of social media apps if Instagram will just combine them all.
Businesses are slower to adapt, and ads can really drive away users. Marketing on TikTok will have to be very clever and well-executed so that it looks more natural to the everyday user. As a Digital Marketing Company in Boise, we are always looking for new opportunities and ways to market to the masses through social media. As expected, we will be keeping a close eye on Instagram Reels and how TikTok evolves to combat it.

Social Media Marketing

Social Eyes is a Boise marketing company that offers a variety of services like web design, web development, social media marketing, and video production. If you’re curious about reaching a target audience through the use of social media give us a call!

Why Your Small Local Business Needs a Website

Google maps showing a local business and their website link

88% of consumers who search for a local business on their smartphones will call or go to that business within 24 hours.

Your business must have a website that is well optimized, eye-catching, and intuitive for consumers. Let’s be honest, most people don’t want to have to go on a 3rd party website to find out about your service hours or menu items. It’s imperative that you find a web design company that will know how to get your companies website up and running. Especially when having that website put on Google Maps.

Before you call a million different places asking for quotes, it is important that you have a basic idea of what you would like your website’s design to be. At Social Eyes Marketing we offer our web design services in Boise that best reflect both our client’s style and the local environment of the business.

Why You Need a Website

No matter how small your business is, you need a website for these exact reasons:

  1. Build Brand Awareness
  2. Get Customers
  3. Share Information
  4. Differentiate From Competitors

1. Build Brand Awareness

Small businesses don’t always have the means to launch a national branding campaign like a lot of chain businesses can. However, by just having a website you are opening the door for more customers without physically doing so. Your customers will be able to more readily associate the products you have to offer with your company’s name. Your website builds brand awareness while you kick back and relax because they can search for your companies name and easily find out all the information they need.

2. Get Customers

Over a billion people use Google Maps. If your business isn’t popping up in Google Maps, then I will not be your customer. Google has made it more intuitive for businesses to set up their profiles in Google My Business.

This makes it so that when your potential client is hungry and they search for a keyword like “Chinese,” your Chinese restaurant will hopefully pop up as a suggested place to eat at. Boom, easy potential customer grab.

3. Share Information

Before someone gets in their car they are usually wanting to know if you are open in the first place. If your web design is intuitive and mobile-friendly then people are able to see your hours and any other sort of information you want to show more readily and quickly.
More and more people are wanting to find information conveniently and at no expense to them. This means less time, less gas, and fewer headaches from crawling google for your business information.

4. Differentiate From Competitors

By having differences in colors, logos, and content, your business is “not just another (blank) company.” Your website shows what is unique to your business’s services, values, and ideals.

Our clients receive web design and development in Boise and beyond, unique to each and every business we serve to ensure that not only is the business owner’s style incorporated, but also what is on-trend and up-to-date is being accounted for. Your website can very easily make customers want your services over your competitors if their website is not readable or intuitive.

Local for a Local

Sometimes seeking the help of companies that are not local can be a challenge communication-wise. A local digital marketing company near you will be able to go all-in with your needs. When receiving help from a local web design company you will be able to convey exactly how you want your website designed without the hassle of making a million phone calls. You also will have a more personal connection because they understand the area and the people you are marketing to.

If you are looking for any Boise SEO services, web design, web development, video production and or more, go here!

If You’re (Not Already) Reading This: 5 Books For Market-Minded Thinkers in 2019

Lady reading book about marketing

Hopefully, 2019 has been a year of growth, prosperity, and innovation. That being said, we look to develop within the world of digital marketing by learning from and alongside others. Where some learn best by workshopping ideas with others or testing through trial-and-error on their own, books can also offer an incredible opportunity for reflection and revival.

We also understand that not all books are created equally. Different authors, different styles, different perspectives. That is the beauty of books, though. There is one for everyone. Check out some of our marketing favorites to help you tap into your next level of success.

1. For Building Culture Among Your Marketing Team

Marketing elements and marketing experts are not all the same. Marketing teams are composed of many different specialists whose expertise is significant to the process. In order to make the most out of your team in their tasks as well as their commitment, you need to create a culture that can do both. Alina Wheeler’s Designing Brand Identity (2017) offers just that and more. Allegedly, Wheeler has composed the Holy Grail for marketing professionals. With extensive research, accessible presentation, and integration of constructive soft skills, Wheeler has wrapped up a strong base for marketers to build upon.

2. For the Future of Marketing

In the digital world we live in marketing is a must. In order to succeed and surpass goals, businesses, organizations, and companies need to integrate the framework of intentional marketing into their regular practices. That is, if these businesses are not going to rely on a professional marketing agency for the heavy lifting. Joe Pulizzi and Robert Rose’s book, Killing Marketing (2017), champions this concept that content is king in today’s world. They reflect on the former standards and incoming trends in order to address what they think are the new institutions of marketing.

3. For Thinking Outside of the Box

Are you experiencing an overload of information? Overwhelmed by the mass amount of content? You’re not alone. Norwegian philanthropist and serial entrepreneur, Jørn Lyseggen, has dedicated a book to media insights based on his lofty career in media intelligence. The book, Outside Insight (2016), extends bottom-up perspectives to transform the way your company operates with innovative analyses. With examples from Apple, Facebook, and even former President Barack Obama, there’s something to be learned regardless of your industry.

4. For the Psychology of Marketing

If you enjoyed Michael Lewis’s work with Moneyball (2003) and The Big Short (2010), we have another strong option for you from him. The Undoing Project (2016) is another piece of literature focusing on behavioral economics much like Lewis’s two other books-turned-motion-pictures. This work peeks into the mind of psychologists; Daniel Kahneman and Amos Tversky whose research was focused on judgment and decision-making heuristics. Simply put, Lewis parallels their expertise in metacognition (thinking about thinking) with the nature of their professional partnership. Lewis manages to keep things engaging and on-brand by incorporating his background in market inefficiencies into a story about the ups and downs of two men working together across nearly 30 years. The New York Times even quoted Tversky in its review of the book: “It is sometimes easier to make the world a better place than to prove you have made the world a better place.” Fortunately, Lewis does just that on their behalf.

For those of us in the marketing industry, this might seem a little obscure to read. However, we all could improve upon our interpersonal skills in the workplace. Thinking about biases, risks, decision-making, happiness, quality of life, and even human rationality gives you an edge to better support yourself, your associates, your clients, and your organization in the long run.

5. For a Light Read on Things You Wouldn’t Expect in Business

With a blog by the same name, Eric Barker’s Barking Up The Wrong Tree (2017) unearths some lesser cited realities within the world of business. While he isn’t referring to things specific to marketing, some of the generic practices we find in our marketing world are flipped on their head in Barker’s book. This book is more or less a guide to understanding why we cling to certain ideals as well as how we can evolve into new ones that actually get us to where we want in our careers. Forbes even interviewed the young writer on his perspectives, career advice, and fun facts (from proven research) on what motivates the most successful individuals.

There are a few months left in the year and we are spending more time indoors with the temperatures creeping closer to freezing. Why not spend some time reading up on ideas from some of the foremost innovators in the marketing industry and beyond.

How to Differentiate Yourself from Competitors

A cluster of Lightbulbs, one being lit to be different

“Risk more than others think is safe. Dream more than others think is practical.”
— Howard Schultz, CEO of Starbucks

A business is built on an idea. This idea is what drives our risk. Stand out from the rest, don’t be afraid.

Be Different

The way your business is portrayed to the public relative to your competitors is a constant battle for any small business. Most people expect to gain traction right away, some businesses are even making ditch efforts to go “viral” with any sort of content they have. In the marketing world, not only do marketing agencies have to market for their clients, but they also must be consistent marketing themselves. Here are some tips on how marketing businesses differentiate themselves from the rest:

1. Don’t be too Broad

One way to stand out from the rest is to be an expert in one area. You may find that this one area is what is lacking across the board for other marketing companies. It’s better to be excellent at one thing, than mediocre at everything. If your business can pump out some high-quality results, then you can build a loyal client base on one factor, and then you can offer more features down the road.

2. Read the Reviews

It’s easy to put up the curtain and focus on what only you think is best for your business. However, there are many other people out there who have their opinions and are not afraid to share them. Especially in social media marketing, it is important to make a connection with your audience and clients. Building this relationship maintains your reputation and shows that you care what others think. If you can find your strengths and weaknesses through the use of reviews and client feedback, then you are on the right track for finding your area of strength.

3. Stir the Pot

As the quote mentions, risk more than others think is safe. This tip takes some more courage and willpower to stand above others. Being different in a controversial way has been a tactic used by a lot of companies such as Gillette. With their recent ad they may have lost out on some customers, but they built loyalty with others that share the same values they do. Sometimes digging into the heart of your business’s values will spark controversy, but in the end, it will reassure you that your business is making noise above the rest.

4. Emphasize Uniqueness

Try emphasizing your companies’ value through unique offers or catchphrases. Sometimes this can be environmentally friendly initiatives, high-quality equipment, or special offers. Whatever your marketing business does to stand out from the rest is a great focus to push. When you push this uniqueness people will begin to catch on to your repetition. This can prove to be a great way to differentiate yourself from other marketing agencies. If you offer something, no matter how small, that your competitors don’t, then customers are driven to engage with your business more.

The Sea of Marketing

The word “marketing” is a very broad term alone, so it can be just as hard to be a unique marketing agency. Boise marketing agencies are gaining more traction due substantial population growth, but they are also facing challenges differentiating themselves from each other. If you think it’s hard for a marketing agency in Boise Idaho, imagine how it is in larger cities. Hopefully, you’ve gained some inspiration or motivation to stand out from the crowd in this flooded market. Market your values, your beliefs, and build a business that attracts that type of audience.

What is PPC Advertising and How Does it Work?

A person building a website on a computer

PPC stands for pay-per-click. PPC advertising is an internet advertising model that helps drive traffic to websites by charging an advertiser to pay a fee whenever the ad is clicked. In today’s competitive online marketplace, PPC marketing is an increasingly popular tool that many companies are utilizing to boost their online marketing efforts.

What is Google AdWords?

Google AdWords is one of the most popular forms of PPC marketing methods on the market. This is an online marketing platform where advertisers pay to display brief advertisements, service offerings, product listings, and video content within the Google ad network. If you have ever seen those ads that show up at the top or side of your screen, those are most likely Google ads.

How to Advertise on Google

Fortunately, advertising on Google is a fairly simple process, though it can take a long time to master. However, by utilizing Google Ads you put yourself in the position to advertise your business to reach thousands, if not millions of people. As we mentioned earlier, it all starts with the Google AdWords platform.

How to Use Google AdWords

Here are the steps to help you use Google AdWords:

  • Sign up for a Google AdWords account.
  • Define your daily budget. You will specify on average how much you would like to pay. You are only charged when someone clicks on your ad.
  • Specify your geographical location.
  • Choose between a Search Network and Display Network. Beginners will usually want to go with the Search Network. Ads will be shown to those who are searching for keywords related to your business.
  • Pick out your keywords. You can choose around 20 keywords that will allow your ad to pop up when someone types in those words in relation to your geographical location.
  • Select the amount of money that you are willing to pay per click.
  • Create your Google Ad.

What is CTR?

CTR stands for click-through rate. CTR is a ratio that shows you how often people click on your ad after they see it. CTR is a good tool to help you understand if your keywords and ads are working well or not. Increasing your company’s CTR should always be an ongoing initiative!

What is PPC Management?

PPC Management is when a marketer oversees a company’s PPC strategy. A PPC manager will make sure that your PPC campaign is effective and properly implemented to meet the needs of your business. PPC services will provide ongoing support and strategy to combine keywords, ad messaging and other components to increase your CTR.

What is Conversion Rate?

The conversion rate is the percentage of visitors who come to your website and complete a specific task. For example, this task could be filling out a form or completing an online sale. It all depends on what you need out of your site visitors to define your conversion. At the end of the day, you want that conversion rate to be as high as possible. If it’s a high percentage, then your website is functioning well in a way that gets your customers to achieve the goal that you are attempting to achieve.

What is Return on Ad Spend?

Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) is a marketing formula that tells you the amount of revenue that is generated for every dollar spent on your particular advertising method. The formula looks like this: (Revenue/Spend) = Return on Ad Spend.

What is Customer Acquisition Cost?

Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) is another helpful formula that will give you an idea of what your business is spending on its marketing efforts. You simply divide your marketing expenses by the number of customers that were acquired during that time period. For example, if you spend $500 and you get 500 customers, then the CAC is $1.

Putting it all Together

A good PPC strategy takes a combination of the components that we talked about here in this article. Implementing tools such as Google AdWords, and following up with measurement, monitoring, and management through analytics will help drive more traffic to your company’s website.

What Is Digital Marketing?

Digital marketing is the advertising of products or services through digital technologies. Examples of these technologies include search engines, social media, email, and mobile apps. Today’s businesses utilize digital marketing as one of the most efficient forms of communication amongst their customers. While there are many forms of digital marketing, each digital marketing strategy can be customized for a particular target market.

What is a Digital Marketing Strategy?

As we mentioned above, there are many different types of digital marketing approaches. For this reason, it is important for every business to develop a digital marketing strategy that will help advertise the products or services for a particular group of customers. It is essential to narrow down ideas that can be executed within the different arenas of digital advertising; for example, these include content marketing, email marketing, social media marketing, and video marketing.

What are Marketing Analytics?

Marketing analytics are crucial to the development of any digital marketing strategy. The utilization of marketing analytics will help your business to measure, manage and analyze its marketing performance. These results will help you figure out how to be more efficient with your digital advertising methods.

How can a Digital Marketing Agency Help your Business?

A digital marketing agency strives to produce results-based marketing with digital strategies. In other words, traditional marketing strategies (such as cold calling and direct mail) are generally dismissed among digital marketing agencies. The idea is to provide digital marketing strategies through the use of an agency that is made up of digital marketing professionals with years of experience in this field.

B2B vs. B2C

There are two types of models that businesses usually adhere to: B2B and B2C. B2B stands for business-to-business. This is when you sell products or services to businesses. B2C stands for business-to-consumer. This is when you sell products or services to customers in the general public. Every business needs to establish one of these models in order to hone in on the proper type of digital marketing strategy. For example, B2B strategies are much different than those of B2C strategies. With a B2B strategy, the marketing efforts need to be designed in ways that are attractive to a business as a whole, rather than an individual consumer.

How to Develop a Successful Digital Marketing Strategy

Take a look at these how-to steps to help guide your forward with your digital marketing strategy:

  • Set your goals.Establishing your goals will help shape the overall strategy.
  • Evaluate the tools that you have on hand. It helps to understand the framework that you have in place when it comes to digital channels and assets. You can use these digital assets to help get started with your plan. You can add more assets along the way as you develop your plan further.
  • Create a content strategy. Develop your content and establish a landing spot for each piece of content that you develop. Whether it is social media, a video, or website content, an established guide will help you place these content pieces in the right spots.
  • Monitor your results. At the end of the day, you need to rely on analytics to get a handle on your results. If something isn’t working, you need to be aware of the issue so that it can be adjusted in a way that will improve your ROI (return on investment).

Keeping up with Digital Marketing

Let’s face it, technology moves fast in today’s world. Digital marketing is an ongoing component of every business that requires time and dedication. For this reason, many businesses will turn to a digital marketing agency for assistance. These are trained professionals who regularly keep up with all of the latest trends and tactics that are relevant in the world of digital advertising. At the end of the day, digital marketing is all about finding efficient ways to reach your customers. It takes a thorough, well-thought-out strategy to achieve this goal.

SEO Trends For 2019

In 2019 we have some new emerging trends in SEO as well as trends that have been on the rise for several years now. Let’s take a look at seven of the most important SEO trends to keep in mind in the coming months.

Less organic traffic to your site.

Because the use of search engine results page (SERP) features, that are becoming more and more commonly used by search engines, click through rates (CTR) are at an all-time low. One way you can avoid this is by not using simple keywords, basically nothing you could look up and be able to find the answer without clicking on a single link. An example of this type of query could be the searcher asking for the time in Tokyo, most search engines have features built into the results page that shows whatever time you searched for. (Plus advertising giants like Google are still looking to please their investors and reducing organic traffic means more money in their pockets.)

One way you can reduce the effects of SERP features is by building and maintaining your brand and creating brand loyalty among your customers. In the end, if you want to maintain or grow traffic to your sight, hiring a search engine optimization company may be your best bet!

Voice search gaining more and more popularity.

Voice search has been on the rise for quite a while now, but it’s just going to keep getting bigger and bigger. The good news is that there are little changes to be made to your current SEO process in order to optimize voice queries. One difference is that voice search requires simpler, easy to read content. In a case study done by Brian Dean, research found that most Google voice search results were written at a ninth-grade reading level. Plus, according to Bright Local, “58% of consumers have used voice search to find local business info in the last 12 months.” So, since local searches still depend more on the distance from searcher to business than, searchers may need to have more detailed queries to find your website if you’re not as close as the other guy. For instance, instead of “digital marketing Boise” they may have to say “search engine optimization Boise” to get the results they’re looking for.

Mobile searches still on top.

In today’s society, everyone seems to be constantly on the go, busier than ever. Due to this, mobile queries have been and will continue to be the majority of all internet searches. While mobile searching is really similar to desktop, it is critical that you make sure you are optimizing for mobile users and the UX needs to be on brand and easy to use… which brings us to our next trend of 2019.

Pretty matters and UX is more important than ever.

Ever come across a very poorly designed website? You know the type, tons of white space, confusing (or nonexistent) navigation features, just overall boring to look at and hard to use, maybe even glitchy. This can actually be detrimental to you and your organization because people generally make their decisions based on first impressions and aesthetics, not necessarily the content on your page. Make sure to keep UX in mind and keep your loading speeds high, your pop-ups and disruptive ads low, and your site mobile friendly and you should be in good shape. Another thing to keep in mind is user intent (UI). When considering keyword placement make sure your content matches the intent of the keyword and can actually be useful to the searcher or this can hurt you too.

Don’t discount backlinks.

So you’ve optimized for mobile, you’ve made sure your website is looking amazing, and your content is well written and easy for voice searches to use as a result, that’s all there is right? Wrong. Never ever forget about the importance of backlinking. While UX is extremely important to the success of your site, backlinking may be even more important. In a study of over 1 billion web pages in their content index, Ahrefs discovered that “there’s a direct correlation between total linking root domains and total organic search traffic.” So don’t get too caught up in UX that you forget that this is the most important ranking factor.

Need for accurate, well-written content.

The internet is HUGE. Trying to wrap our minds around the actual size of the entirety of the internet is pretty difficult. In order for your site to stand out amongst the billions of other web pages, you NEED to make sure your content is well written, accurate and easy to understand. Your information needs to come from a credible source or you will lose traffic to those who do.

Opportunities to Increase Traffic From Existing Content

Creating new content for your website can take a lot of time & effort. From researching blog topics to drafting & publishing the articles, it might even come at a high cost if you outsource the articles to a writer. Pruning away low performing content from your website, as well as increasing the quality of medium-high performing content is a quick & cheap way to increase traffic. Conducting an SEO Content Audit is an SEO Trend & marketing strategy that IT Companies use to highlight these quick-win opportunities.

More video.

YouTube reports that by 2021 80% of all web traffic will consist of video. If this doesn’t convince you that video is extremely important to your site’s success, it should. Owned by Google, Youtube is the second largest search engine, so it should not be forgotten. Plus, pages with video are 53 times more likely to show up on the first page of Google search results, so adding video can be a simple step in order to increase your site’s traffic.

7 Reasons to Drop Yellow Pages and Get On Google

7 Reasons to Drop Yellow Pages and Get On Google

If you are still paying your $100 monthly fee to stay “relevant” in the Yellow Page phonebooks that most people use for kindling, now’s the time to ditch them. In an increasingly digital world, it’s safe to say that most consumers go to Google when they are looking for a new service – whether it’s a doctor, dentist, plumber, restaurant, yard service, you name it.

Think about the last time you were wanting to try a new restaurant or that time when your furnace broke and you needed an HVAC tech. Did you thumb through the phone book that you had so readily available? Maybe…But more likely, you pulled your phone out of your pocket and did a quick search on Google.

If you own a small business that offers local services, then you totally need to be showing up there! Maybe you know this already, maybe you don’t, but there are still so many businesses who are struggling to break free of their phone books and who are not on Google. It’s time to make sure you are showing up in the Yellow Pages of the online world.

Google My Business, the online platform that allows you to show up on Google Maps, provides so many wonderful benefits to local businesses and to the consumers who search for them.

Better Conversions

Typically, Google Maps and the businesses it lists are the first things that show up when someone does a Google search for a business or service. You know this, you’ve done it. Because of this, these businesses at the top of the search results often capture the majority of the clicks that come from that search.

And when a searcher comes to Google looking to solve their problem through a new service, they are showing explicit intent to buy. They have that shopping mentality and are ready to make a purchase. So you want to make sure you’re showing up when someone makes that search.

Trust Metrics

Everyone knows Google, and most consumers put high trust into familiarity and big brands. If Google is displaying your information, that trust is then carried over to your business. You might have companies calling you to get listed in their online directories, but their websites are not the first place that consumers go to conduct a search. Google is.

Reviews

One of the most wonderful benefits of Google My Business is that customers can leave their feedback of your business on this platform. Have you ever left a review on Google?

Customers can leave reviews that convert other people who come across your listing. When you do an excellent job providing service and create an awesome product, people will naturally want to share it with others and part of that comes through leaving reviews. Of course, you need to make sure that you are providing the best service you can in order to ensure positive reviews.

Exposure

When your business is showing up on Google Maps, people see it. Not everyone will come to your business the first time they do a search for your service. Some of them might go to another similar business, but if they are let down by that one, you can bet they are going to come back and search again – and who’s going to be there? That’s right – you.

This is also a great tool for brand awareness. Even if people are searching for other similar businesses to yours and don’t click on you, they probably saw your listing, and after a few more times of doing the same search, they will start to recognize your name.

Updating Information

It’s not just about getting new leads, but also about keeping current customers up to date. Don’t make your customers have to call and find out what your hours are or second guess if you’re open on a federal, but not widely recognized, holiday.

If you move locations, change your phone number, get a new website, update your hours – you can share all of that on your Google listing and keep new and current customers in the loop in a matter of minutes. You can’t just backspace and retype your info in a phonebook.

Gain Valuable Insights

Google My Business also offers tons of great insights that have the potential to really help you increase business. Their insights will tell you how people are interacting with your listing – whether they are clicking to call your business, asking for directions, visiting your website, or even messaging you.

You can also see which search queries brought people to your Google listing. If someone searched for “orthodontists in Boise” and your business showed up, but you only do general dentistry, that could be a good indicator that you need to update your website or change the category on your listing.

It’s Free

And the best part – it’s free! Google My Business is not limited to the big businesses that can afford to show up there. It’s available for everyone. That’s not to say that you will automatically show up at the top of every search query just because you got a Google My Business listing. There are several factors that tie into it, but it gives you a good place to start.

When you are ready to really make the push for local SEO and get your business showing up well on Google, you can find a specialist to help you out.

Author Bio

Kaili Killpack is the lead SEO Specialist for Manwaring Web Solutions. She manages SEO for dozens of small businesses in and out of Idaho. Building client relationships, solving problems, writing content, and basking in their successes make her job something that she truly loves doing.

These 3 Things Make or Break your Homepage Header

Here’s the problem:

You have worked incredibly hard to design this beautiful website. You have gone through the rigorous process of gathering content, shooting photos, and planning out the structure of the website. Once that’s done, you still had to build it. You swore to yourself that business would increase because of the new site. You knew it in your gut. It had to work.

But did it work?

Most businesses build the headers of their websites wrong. They try to be cute and clever. They assume a beautiful image, a well-established logo, and a catchy slogan is enough to seal the deal with the visitor.

But it’s not.

The visitor doesn’t care. They have a problem that needs to be solved and they want to do it as efficiently and effectively as possible. Here’s the deal, every human wants two things; We want to survive and we want to thrive. We all have our own problems that we are trying to solve and we look for external solutions or guides to help us solve those problems. So why not make your website as clear as possible? Stop being cute and clever and be incredibly clear with your visitor. Tell them exactly what you do.

So here are the 3 things that will make or break your homepage header. If you are missing any of the 3, then you are leaving money on the table.

Your website should answer 3 simple questions in the first 5 seconds of the visitor looking at your site.

What do you offer?

Be incredibly clear with as few words as possible. If you are an HVAC company and your service and install heaters and AC units, here is an example of what not to say: “Established in 1972 and serving you for another 50 years”. This is incredibly vague and the visitor has to work very hard to understand what you are saying. Here is a good example to follow: “HVAC Installation and Repair that You Can Count On”. This tells the visitor exactly what you do while speaking to some internal frustration and moves them down the sales process.

How does it make my life better?

The good example above speaks to a better life with “Repair that You Can Count On”. In your headlines, it is important to be crystal clear about how it makes the visitor’s life better. Spell it out for them: “No more unbearable summers,” “No more layering clothing to stay warm”. With this type of imagery, you will paint a picture of how it makes the visitor’s life better.

Where do I click to buy it?

Add 2 call-to-action buttons to the header of your website. The first should be in the top right of the website and the second should be under your main headline. Additionally, your button needs to be a direct call-to-action. Don’t say, “Contact Us”. Use direct phrases like “Call Today” or “Schedule Now”. It might feel pushy to you, but the visitor will never receive it that way. They just want to know what to do next if they are ready to do business with you.

If you look at your website and you are NOT answering these 3 questions, then your website is losing business. Make all of that hard work worth it and double check your header. Your website is too important to be confusing visitors. For a video explanation of this post, watch this video.

BIO

Zach Rinard

Rinard Media

“Most business owners don’t feel confident in their marketing strategies. At Rinard Media, we collaboratively work to build marketing strategies that help them achieve their goals. This frees up business owners to get back to doing what they love. They get more time with their families and ultimately have less stress.”

Social Media Predictions for 2019

Since the world became entranced with social media – or indeed reliant upon it as many would say –
it has been customary for industry insiders to look for future trends. Not only is social media a fun
way to keep in touch with people and share information, but it is also an important business tool. In
fact, there are many who will tell you – and perhaps quite rightly – that it is under-utilized in terms
of marketing.

What do we see as the primary social media predictions for the next year? With 2018 having been
quite a turbulent one in many ways – we have seen a number of data security breaches after all,
with the very public Facebook breach being the one that raised eyebrows – 2019 promises to be a
year of changes, but where will these changes be, and how will they manifest?

We took a look at a few of the predicted social media trends for 2019, so you can take a step
forward and be prepared for what is about to happen.

1: Will Facebook Continue to Decline?

As we said, 2018 has been a troubled year in the social media world, and not the least for Facebook,
which for many is the poster-child of social media. In Europe in particular, user numbers have fallen,
the main catalyst being the major security breach that occurred mid-year.

In fact, when analyzed closely, the information gained was not as great as many of us thought, but
the very fact that it was easily done raised a lot of red flags in the industry.

Furthermore, with the ongoing problems of ‘fake news’ – a big problem with all areas of social
media and not just Facebook – plus concerns that many areas of the platform have become more
politicized, things are not looking great. To add insult to injury, recent updates to the way the page
looks met with little satisfaction from users.

It could be that people are becoming bored with the platform and are more in tune with Instagram
and Snapchat, which focus on much less involvement and faster interaction, but look to the USA for
signs of falling numbers here next year, and it might be the beginning of the downfall of the king.

2: Real-Time Interaction

This is an area that is already seeing some serious movement, and it’s one you need to look closely
at if you are searching for social media trends for 2019. By real-time we mean interaction with
customers in marketing and online retail. Think of it this way: you talk to your friends in real time, so
why not those who are doing you a service?

Yet, it goes further than that; chatbots, for example, are for many online businesses the way
forward. The tools are there – it happens in advertising already – for even smaller companies to have
an automated search bot looking for mentions of its products. Two people talking about a particular product
– be it on Twitter, for example, or any other platform – may find a real-time chat box
opening asking them what they are interested in.

It makes sense; why should anyone wait, when they want instant answers anyway? The next year
could see this as the biggest development in online marketing, and without anyone really noticing!

3: Personalization

There is no doubt that the ongoing personalization of social media marketing is controversial, but
then is there any area of social media that is not? The fact is, we put so much information out there
without even thinking about it, so why wouldn’t marketers use it?

It’s happening to a great degree: head to Netflix, for example, and it will give you a category of
‘Because You Watched. You will find Amazon ads on your pages featuring products like those you
recently searched. It can feel a little ‘Big Brother’, but how many times have you clicked on that
recommended film, or bought the product suggested?

This sort of thing is set to expand across the digital arena in no small way, and in all honesty, it is
nothing more than the modern version of direct mail, in which likely buyers were targeted with
physical maildrops.

You may also find this technique in an advanced form known as ‘social listening’; this is searching for
not only mentions of brands and products, but also monitoring reputations. Don’t get this mixed up
with the current raft of rumors that ‘your phone is listening to you’ – it may be, it may not – but
consider it as just a way of personalizing the consumers’ information for their own convenience.
Social listening relies on things like IP addresses and cookies instead of your phone’s mic, so take off
that tin-foil hat and relax knowing that at least the marketers aren’t listening in.

4: Video Content

The inexorable rise of video content is clear to see. Inspired by YouTube, and enabled by the ability
to film content fit for broadcast on cheap, hand-held devices, it is no surprise that the video is set to
be the digital marketeers chosen weapon when targeting social media.

It’s 2019…Let’s face it, people like to watch video, and don’t like to read slabs of words brought
down from a mountaintop. People like to be amused, and that’s something that is far easier to do in
moving picture form. And, with the tools we have now, you can even ‘go live’ and put out a real-time
broadcast inviting your potential clients to engage with you, on the spot. If we are to credit anything
as the fastest rising medium of 2019, it’s live video content, and video marketing as a whole.

The simple facts remain that social media is fluid, it’s powerful, and it’s here to stay. People sign on
to talk to someone, and if you can engage them with relevant content while you are both online, you
have a live potential customer right there.

The trends in social media are moving away from the fun and frivolous towards the practical and
beneficial – beneficial to both the customer and the provider – and it pays to stay one step ahead.
Keep an eye out for the trends mentioned above, and be aware that these are the probable movers
and shakers in terms of social media for the coming year.

This post was submitted by our friends at SociallyIn, a social media marketing agency located in Birmingham, Alabama. They were voted one of the fastest growing companies in Birmingham during 2018 and are also known for hosting the annual Southern Social Summit which is a gathering of creatives and social media marketers. SociallyIn is listed in the top 10 social media marketing firms on Clutch.