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Search Engine Optimization

What does SEO mean?

SEO is short for Search Engine Optimization. SEO is the process of driving traffic to your website from search engines through organic search engine results. The idea is to drive quality traffic in high quantities to your website. There are a variety of SEO techniques that are used to enhance the ranking of a website in search engine results pages. We will talk more about these techniques throughout this article.

How exactly does SEO work?

Search engines have crawlers that gather information from content all across the internet. These crawlers use algorithms to match data with your website. It is a fairly complex system with a lot of factors involved when it comes to the sorting of websites on search engines. Keep this in mind: user-friendly websites will usually rank higher if the search engine decides that the site is easy to read and navigate.

SEO vs. SEM

When it comes down to it, you have Search Engine Optimization (SEO) and Search Engine Marketing (SEM). The key difference here is that SEO concepts revolve around organic results – in other words, these are free search results. SEM uses paid services, such as Pay-Per-Click (PPC) advertising. Basically, you are paying the search engines to increase the visibility of your website when you use SEM. It all comes down to the approach of your business – either organic SEO or paying for services with SEM.

What is Organic Click-Through Rate?

Organic Click-Through Rate is the percentage of searchers that click on a search engine result. In other words, it shows you how often a person will click on your search result after it is viewed. There are many techniques that a Search Engine Optimization company can implement that will help improve organic click-through rates. We will talk more about that in the next section below.

What is a Search Engine Optimization Company?

A Search Engine Optimization company can help businesses improve their SEO strategies to better position themselves on search engine rankings. It often requires changes to content, images, coding and other pieces of a company website to improve SEO results. An SEO service is complete with SEO professionals who can properly analyze a company website to implement the necessary changes that will improve the visibility of a website.

What are Structured Snippets?

Structured snippets are ad extensions that allow you to highlight aspects of your product or service. These can basically give your customers a preview of what your business has to offer before they even click on the link. The goal is to entice people to click on the link to learn more. Utilizing structured snippets can help drastically improve your click-through rates.

What is the Purpose of a Google Analytics Report?

A Google Analytics report is a free web analytics service that gives you in-depth detail about the visitors that come to your website. This valuable tool will help you understand where visitors click, how long they stay and other aspects related to their visit. Using this report will help you better shape the strategy of your website if you notice particular weaknesses that show up in the reports.

Why is Web Marketing so Important?

Marketing your business online requires the use of search engines, social media, videos, email, blogging and other such online tools. Fortunately, these efforts allow you to reach a large audience. While you can certainly focus your marketing efforts locally in Boise, web marketing makes it easier to expand your services across the nation. For this reason, web marketing is essential to the modern business. In order to successfully market your business online, it is important to focus on website optimization. Along with SEO techniques, it is important to design your website content in ways that will ensure that it is clear, concise, and relevant to your products or services.

What is PPC Advertising and How Does it Work?

PPC stands for pay-per-click. PPC advertising is an internet advertising model that helps drive traffic to websites by charging an advertiser to pay a fee whenever the ad is clicked. In today’s competitive online marketplace, PPC marketing is an increasingly popular tool that many companies are utilizing to boost their online marketing efforts.

What is Google AdWords?

Google AdWords is one of the most popular forms of PPC marketing methods on the market. This is an online marketing platform where advertisers pay to display brief advertisements, service offerings, product listings, and video content within the Google ad network. If you have ever seen those ads that show up at the top or side of your screen, those are most likely Google ads.

How to Advertise on Google

Fortunately, advertising on Google is a fairly simple process, though it can take a long time to master. However, by utilizing Google Ads you put yourself in the position to advertise your business to reach thousands, if not millions of people. As we mentioned earlier, it all starts with the Google AdWords platform.

How to Use Google AdWords

Here are the steps to help you use Google AdWords:

  • Sign up for a Google AdWords account.
  • Define your daily budget. You will specify on average how much you would like to pay. You are only charged when someone clicks on your ad.
  • Specify your geographical location.
  • Choose between a Search Network and Display Network. Beginners will usually want to go with the Search Network. Ads will be shown to those who are searching for keywords related to your business.
  • Pick out your keywords. You can choose around 20 keywords that will allow your ad to pop up when someone types in those words in relation to your geographical location.
  • Select the amount of money that you are willing to pay per click.
  • Create your Google Ad.

What is CTR?

CTR stands for click-through rate. CTR is a ratio that shows you how often people click on your ad after they see it. CTR is a good tool to help you understand if your keywords and ads are working well or not. Increasing your company’s CTR should always be an ongoing initiative!

What is PPC Management?

PPC Management is when a marketer oversees a company’s PPC strategy. A PPC manager will make sure that your PPC campaign is effective and properly implemented to meet the needs of your business. PPC services will provide ongoing support and strategy to combine keywords, ad messaging and other components to increase your CTR.

What is Conversion Rate?

The conversion rate is the percentage of visitors who come to your website and complete a specific task. For example, this task could be filling out a form or completing an online sale. It all depends on what you need out of your site visitors to define your conversion. At the end of the day, you want that conversion rate to be as high as possible. If it’s a high percentage, then your website is functioning well in a way that gets your customers to achieve the goal that you are attempting to achieve.

What is Return on Ad Spend?

Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) is a marketing formula that tells you the amount of revenue that is generated for every dollar spent on your particular advertising method. The formula looks like this: (Revenue/Spend) = Return on Ad Spend.

What is Customer Acquisition Cost?

Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) is another helpful formula that will give you an idea of what your business is spending on its marketing efforts. You simply divide your marketing expenses by the number of customers that were acquired during that time period. For example, if you spend $500 and you get 500 customers, then the CAC is $1.

Putting it all Together

A good PPC strategy takes a combination of the components that we talked about here in this article. Implementing tools such as Google AdWords, and following up with measurement, monitoring, and management through analytics will help drive more traffic to your company’s website.

What is Lead Generation?

Lead generation is the act of finding people or businesses who are considered to be potential customers immediately or in the future. Lead generation is a term that you will hear often in the world of marketing and sales. It’s an important process that is essential to building a larger database of customers and potential future customers for your business.

What is a Lead?

A lead is the business or person that you are targeting to promote your product(s) or service(s). In other words, these are the customers that fit into your niche market. These are the customers who you believe are mostly likely to do business with your company.

What is a Lead Generator?

A lead generator is a person (or a software tool in some cases) that generates leads for your business. A person may spend time scouring the internet, making phone calls or sending e-mails in an effort to find potential leads. While it can be time consuming for a person to search for leads, the end results often pay off when a sale is completed due to the discovery of a lead.
There is also lead generator software that is designed to track down potential leads for your particular business. Some lead generator software gathers leads from databases, generates leads from your website visitors and compiles relevant business contact information from across the web.

How to Generate a Lead

When you are not using lead generating software, there are some things that your business can do generate more leads. Here are a few ideas to help you generate leads:

  • Create an email newsletter. This will help build relationships with your potential customers.
  • Utilize social media on a regular basis. Social media is an excellent tool to help you connect with a large audience.
  • Set up a referral system with your customers. This is a great way to expand your network through your base of satisfied customers.
  • Post blogs on a regular basis. Blogs are great marketing tools to help you connect with your audience on a more personal level. In addition, they help your search engine optimization efforts.

What is Lead Management?

Once you have your leads in hand, lead management is the process of tracking and managing these potential customers. There are several components of lead management that can help your business properly handle its leads. Most notably, lead scoring and lead nurturing are two major components that we want to discuss further.

What is Lead Scoring?

Lead scoring is the act of sorting your leads by priority. You will create a customized scoring system by accurately categorizing your leads based on the specific details related to the potential customer. Scoring depends on the details of what you are trying to accomplish with your sale. For example, if a customer fills out a sales lead form online, then this customer will score extra points in your lead scoring system.

What is Lead Nurturing?

Lead nurturing is the act of scheduling follow-up communication with your leads. Leads should be identified as “contacted” or “uncontacted” with follow-up dates that are inputted into a schedule. The type of follow-up communication should be noted as well; for example, it should be noted if the customer prefers a phone call, email, text, or some other type of communication. All of these details will help give you a better chance of landing this lead as a sale in the future.

Lead Generation in Today’s World of Internet Marketing

Internet marketing is the most popular form of marketing in today’s business landscape. With that said, lead generation efforts continue to evolve in today’s fast-paced world of technology. It’s important to stay on top of the latest trends and methods that are available to find, track and communicate with leads through the internet. Implementing and maintaining a high quality lead management strategy should be a top priority for any business.

Must Know Brand Marketing 101 for Startups and Entrepreneurs

Starting a business can be an incredibly exciting experience. One mistake though is getting overexcited and forgetting about the basics, including brand marketing. A strong brand is vital for any company. It is how you are perceived and judged by anyone that views your business. Here’s how you can start off your brand marketing.

Make your brand stand out

One way to do is read up on the subject and get your hands on a guide to everything you need to know about branding. Branding is big and critical for your startup business so pay heed to professional advice.
Most professionals will tell you that by marketing yourself as a personal brand you are letting potential customers immediately know who you are and who they can trust. On the flip side, if you bungle up and market yourself poorly, it will lead to poor branding and misrepresentation of your business. That’s why it’s important to know what qualities you have that makes you stand out.
Another way to learn is observe and analyze famous brands. For example think of Disney, you’d immediately think of child-friendly movies. The same goes with Intel with high-quality computing equipment, Gillette with affordable razors and Rolex with luxury watches. There is more to these brands than what they sell.

Market to your niche

What’s common about those brands is that they know what type of product sells and who they’re marketing to. Disney wouldn’t advertise outside of a nightclub, Gillette wouldn’t market themselves as a luxury brand and Rolex wouldn’t have a stall in a convenience store.
It’s important to identify who you are and what your brand stands for. This can take some detailed research and patience. Trying to find your unique selling point (USP) is vital, especially if you have a small marketing budget. It’s important to note that winning a small targeted group of people is better than trying to swim and survive in a sea of unknown population.

Combine your brand with marketing

Your brand and your marketing are two separate aspects but are strongly bonded. You have to market with your brand in mind, and you have to develop your brand thinking about how you are going to market it.
So if you market without considering your brand you are going to risk confusing your customers. You need to create a marketing strategy that everyone can buy into in order to give yourself a consistent message across all platforms.

Don’t send mixed brand messages

Today, there are more ways to market your brand than ever before.
Your logo design and name are important so make sure you get them seen across as many platforms as possible. Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn are great tools to start with.
Your website can also be vital, as will any app that you have. Blogging is a great way to educate and convince your customers of your brand’s authority, and help your website show on search engines.
Across all these platforms, you want to make sure that you are marketing your brand message consistently in order to start growing your business with a solid foundation.

Final thoughts

Your brand is a powerful piece of intellectual property and you need to protect it at all cost. One bad marketing move and you could cause damage that could take awhile to recover. So pay heed to building your brand from ground zero.

Guest Author Bio
Bill Watson is a digital strategist whose passion is to promote startups and small businesses via online media. He loves creative tattoo designs, dogs and lots of coffee. Connect with him here.

SEO: What It Is and What It’s Not

What does SEO mean?

SEO is short for Search Engine Optimization. SEO is the process of driving traffic to your website from search engines through organic search engine results. The idea is to drive quality traffic in high quantities to your website. There are a variety of SEO techniques that are used to enhance the ranking of a website in search engine results pages. We will talk more about these techniques throughout this article.

How exactly does SEO work?

Search engines have crawlers that gather information from content all across the internet. These crawlers use algorithms to match data with your website. It is fairly complex system with a lot of factors involved when it comes to the sorting of websites on search engines. Keep this in mind: user-friendly websites will usually rank higher if the search engine decides that the site is easy to read and navigate.

SEO vs. SEM

When it comes down to it, you have Search Engine Optimization (SEO) and Search Engine Marketing (SEM). The key difference here is that SEO concepts revolve around organic results – in other words, these are free search results. SEM uses paid services, such as Pay-Per-Click (PPC) advertising. Basically, you are paying the search engines to increase the visibility of your website when you use SEM. It all comes down to the approach of your business – either organic SEO or paying for services with SEM.

What is Organic Click-Through Rate?

Organic Click-Through Rate is the percentage of searchers that click on a search engine result. In other words, it shows you how often a person will click on your search result after it is viewed. There are many techniques that a Search Engine Optimization company can implement that will help improve organic click-through rates. We will talk more about that in the next section below.

What is a Search Engine Optimization Company?

A Search Engine Optimization company can help businesses improve their SEO strategies to better position themselves on search engine rankings. It often requires changes to content, images, coding and other pieces of a company website to improve SEO results. An SEO service is complete with SEO professionals who can properly analyze a company website to implement the necessary changes that will improve the visibility of a website.

What are Structured Snippets?

Structured snippets are ad extensions that allow you to highlight aspects of your product or service. These can basically give your customer a preview of what your business has to offer before they even click on the link. The goal is to entice people to click on the link to learn more. Utilizing structured snippets can help drastically improve your click-through rates.

What is the Purpose of a Google Analytics Report?

A Google analytics report is a web analytics service that gives you in-depth detail about the visitors that come to your website. This valuable tool will help you understand where visitors click, how long they stay and other aspects related to their visit. Using this report will help you better shape the strategy of your website if you notice particular weaknesses that show up in the reports.

Why is Web Marketing so Important?

Marketing your business online requires the use of search engines, social media, videos, email, blogging and other such online tools. Fortunately, these efforts allow you to reach a large audience. While you can certainly focus your marketing efforts locally in Boise, web marketing makes it easier to expand your services across the nation. For this reason, web marketing is essential to the modern business. In order to successfully market your business online, it is important to focus on website optimization. Along with SEO techniques, it is important to design your website content in ways that will ensure that it is clear, concise, and relevant to your products or services.

What Is Digital Marketing?

Digital marketing is the advertising of products or services through digital technologies. Examples of these technologies include search engines, social media, email, and mobile apps. Today’s businesses utilize digital marketing as one of the most efficient forms of communication amongst their customers. While there are many forms of digital marketing, each digital marketing strategy can be customized for a particular target market.

What is a Digital Marketing Strategy?

As we mentioned above, there are many different types of digital marketing approaches. For this reason, it is important for every business to develop a digital marketing strategy that will help advertise the products or services for a particular group of customers. It is essential to narrow down ideas that can be executed within the different arenas of digital advertising; for example, these include content marketing, email marketing, social media marketing, and video marketing.

What are Marketing Analytics?

Marketing analytics are crucial to the development of any digital marketing strategy. The utilization of marketing analytics will help your business to measure, manage and analyze its marketing performance. These results will help you figure out how to be more efficient with your digital advertising methods.

How can a Digital Marketing Agency Help your Business?

A digital marketing agency strives to produce results-based marketing with digital strategies. In other words, traditional marketing strategies (such as cold calling and direct mail) are generally dismissed among digital marketing agencies. The idea is to provide digital marketing strategies through the use of an agency that is made up of digital marketing professionals with years of experience in this field.

B2B vs. B2C

There are two types of models that businesses usually adhere to: B2B and B2C. B2B stands for business-to-business. This is when you sell products or services to businesses. B2C stands for business-to-consumer. This is when you sell products or services to customers in the general public. Every business needs to establish one of these models in order to hone in on the proper type of digital marketing strategy. For example, B2B strategies are much different than those of B2C strategies. With a B2B strategy, the marketing efforts need to be designed in ways that are attractive to a business as a whole, rather than an individual consumer.

How to Develop a Successful Digital Marketing Strategy

Take a look at these how-to steps to help guide your forward with your digital marketing strategy:

  • Set your goals.Establishing your goals will help shape the overall strategy.
  • Evaluate the tools that you have on hand. It helps to understand the framework that you have in place when it comes to digital channels and assets. You can use these digital assets to help get started with your plan. You can add more assets along the way as you develop your plan further.
  • Create a content strategy. Develop your content and establish a landing spot for each piece of content that you develop. Whether it is social media, a video, or website content, an established guide will help you place these content pieces in the right spots.
  • Monitor your results. At the end of the day, you need to rely on analytics to get a handle on your results. If something isn’t working, you need to be aware of the issue so that it can be adjusted in a way that will improve your ROI (return on investment).

Keeping up with Digital Marketing

Let’s face it, technology moves fast in today’s world. Digital marketing is an ongoing component of every business that requires time and dedication. For this reason, many businesses will turn to a digital marketing agency for assistance. These are trained professionals who regularly keep up with all of the latest trends and tactics that are relevant in the world of digital advertising. At the end of the day, digital marketing is all about finding efficient ways to reach your customers. It takes a thorough, well-thought-out strategy to achieve this goal.

SEO Trends For 2019

In 2019 we have some new emerging trends in SEO as well as trends that have been on the rise for several years now. Let’s take a look at seven of the most important SEO trends to keep in mind in the coming months.

Less organic traffic to your site.

Because the use of search engine results page (SERP) features, that are becoming more and more commonly used by search engines, click through rates (CTR) are at an all-time low. One way you can avoid this is by not using simple keywords, basically nothing you could look up and be able to find the answer without clicking on a single link. An example of this type of query could be the searcher asking for the time in Tokyo, most search engines have features built into the results page that shows whatever time you searched for. (Plus advertising giants like Google are still looking to please their investors and reducing organic traffic means more money in their pockets.)

One way you can reduce the effects of SERP features is by building and maintaining your brand and creating brand loyalty among your customers. In the end, if you want to maintain or grow traffic to your sight, hiring a search engine optimization company may be your best bet!

Voice search gaining more and more popularity.

Voice search has been on the rise for quite a while now, but it’s just going to keep getting bigger and bigger. The good news is that there are little changes to be made to your current SEO process in order to optimize voice queries. One difference is that voice search requires simpler, easy to read content. In a case study done by Brian Dean, research found that most Google voice search results were written at a ninth-grade reading level. Plus, according to Bright Local, “58% of consumers have used voice search to find local business info in the last 12 months.” So, since local searches still depend more on the distance from searcher to business than, searchers may need to have more detailed queries to find your website if you’re not as close as the other guy. For instance, instead of “digital marketing Boise” they may have to say “search engine optimization Boise” to get the results they’re looking for.

Mobile searches still on top.

In today’s society, everyone seems to be constantly on the go, busier than ever. Due to this, mobile queries have been and will continue to be the majority of all internet searches. While mobile searching is really similar to desktop, it is critical that you make sure you are optimizing for mobile users and the UX needs to be on brand and easy to use… which brings us to our next trend of 2019.

Pretty matters and UX is more important than ever.

Ever come across a very poorly designed website? You know the type, tons of white space, confusing (or nonexistent) navigation features, just overall boring to look at and hard to use, maybe even glitchy. This can actually be detrimental to you and your organization because people generally make their decisions based on first impressions and aesthetics, not necessarily the content on your page. Make sure to keep UX in mind and keep your loading speeds high, your pop-ups and disruptive ads low, and your site mobile friendly and you should be in good shape. Another thing to keep in mind is user intent (UI). When considering keyword placement make sure your content matches the intent of the keyword and can actually be useful to the searcher or this can hurt you too.

Don’t discount backlinks.

So you’ve optimized for mobile, you’ve made sure your website is looking amazing, and your content is well written and easy for voice searches to use as a result, that’s all there is right? Wrong. Never ever forget about the importance of backlinking. While UX is extremely important to the success of your site, backlinking may be even more important. In a study of over 1 billion web pages in their content index, Ahrefs discovered that “there’s a direct correlation between total linking root domains and total organic search traffic.” So don’t get too caught up in UX that you forget that this is the most important ranking factor.

Need for accurate, well-written content.

The internet is HUGE. Trying to wrap our minds around the actual size of the entirety of the internet is pretty difficult. In order for your site to stand out amongst the billions of other web pages, you NEED to make sure your content is well written, accurate and easy to understand. Your information needs to come from a credible source or you will lose traffic to those who do.

More video.

YouTube reports that by 2021 80% of all web traffic will consist of video. If this doesn’t convince you that video is extremely important to your site’s success, it should. Owned by Google, Youtube is the second largest search engine, so it should not be forgotten. Plus, pages with video are 53 times more likely to show up on the first page of Google search results, so adding video can be a simple step in order to increase your site’s traffic.

7 Reasons to Drop Yellow Pages and Get On Google

7 Reasons to Drop Yellow Pages and Get On Google

If you are still paying your $100 monthly fee to stay “relevant” in the Yellow Page phonebooks that most people use for kindling, now’s the time to ditch them. In an increasingly digital world, it’s safe to say that most consumers go to Google when they are looking for a new service – whether it’s a doctor, dentist, plumber, restaurant, yard service, you name it.

Think about the last time you were wanting to try a new restaurant or that time when your furnace broke and you needed an HVAC tech. Did you thumb through the phone book that you had so readily available? Maybe…But more likely, you pulled your phone out of your pocket and did a quick search on Google.

If you own a small business that offers local services, then you totally need to be showing up there! Maybe you know this already, maybe you don’t, but there are still so many businesses who are struggling to break free of their phone books and who are not on Google. It’s time to make sure you are showing up in the Yellow Pages of the online world.

Google My Business, the online platform that allows you to show up on Google Maps, provides so many wonderful benefits to local businesses and to the consumers who search for them.

Better Conversions

Typically, Google Maps and the businesses it lists are the first things that show up when someone does a Google search for a business or service. You know this, you’ve done it. Because of this, these businesses at the top of the search results often capture the majority of the clicks that come from that search.

And when a searcher comes to Google looking to solve their problem through a new service, they are showing explicit intent to buy. They have that shopping mentality and are ready to make a purchase. So you want to make sure you’re showing up when someone makes that search.

Trust Metrics

Everyone knows Google, and most consumers put high trust into familiarity and big brands. If Google is displaying your information, that trust is then carried over to your business. You might have companies calling you to get listed in their online directories, but their websites are not the first place that consumers go to conduct a search. Google is.

Reviews

One of the most wonderful benefits of Google My Business is that customers can leave their feedback of your business on this platform. Have you ever left a review on Google?

Customers can leave reviews that convert other people who come across your listing. When you do an excellent job providing service and create an awesome product, people will naturally want to share it with others and part of that comes through leaving reviews. Of course, you need to make sure that you are providing the best service you can in order to ensure positive reviews.

Exposure

When your business is showing up on Google Maps, people see it. Not everyone will come to your business the first time they do a search for your service. Some of them might go to another similar business, but if they are let down by that one, you can bet they are going to come back and search again – and who’s going to be there? That’s right – you.

This is also a great tool for brand awareness. Even if people are searching for other similar businesses to yours and don’t click on you, they probably saw your listing, and after a few more times of doing the same search, they will start to recognize your name.

Updating Information

It’s not just about getting new leads, but also about keeping current customers up to date. Don’t make your customers have to call and find out what your hours are or second guess if you’re open on a federal, but not widely recognized, holiday.

If you move locations, change your phone number, get a new website, update your hours – you can share all of that on your Google listing and keep new and current customers in the loop in a matter of minutes. You can’t just backspace and retype your info in a phonebook.

Gain Valuable Insights

Google My Business also offers tons of great insights that have the potential to really help you increase business. Their insights will tell you how people are interacting with your listing – whether they are clicking to call your business, asking for directions, visiting your website, or even messaging you.

You can also see which search queries brought people to your Google listing. If someone searched for “orthodontists in Boise” and your business showed up, but you only do general dentistry, that could be a good indicator that you need to update your website or change the category on your listing.

It’s Free

And the best part – it’s free! Google My Business is not limited to the big businesses that can afford to show up there. It’s available for everyone. That’s not to say that you will automatically show up at the top of every search query just because you got a Google My Business listing. There are several factors that tie into it, but it gives you a good place to start.

When you are ready to really make the push for local SEO and get your business showing up well on Google, you can find a specialist to help you out.

Author Bio

Kaili Killpack is the lead SEO Specialist for Manwaring Web Solutions. She manages SEO for dozens of small businesses in and out of Idaho. Building client relationships, solving problems, writing content, and basking in their successes make her job something that she truly loves doing.

These 3 Things Make or Break your Homepage Header

Here’s the problem:

You have worked incredibly hard to design this beautiful website. You have gone through the rigorous process of gathering content, shooting photos, and planning out the structure of the website. Once that’s done, you still had to build it. You swore to yourself that business would increase because of the new site. You knew it in your gut. It had to work.

But did it work?

Most businesses build the headers of their websites wrong. They try to be cute and clever. They assume a beautiful image, a well-established logo, and a catchy slogan is enough to seal the deal with the visitor.

But it’s not.

The visitor doesn’t care. They have a problem that needs to be solved and they want to do it as efficiently and effectively as possible. Here’s the deal, every human wants two things; We want to survive and we want to thrive. We all have our own problems that we are trying to solve and we look for external solutions or guides to help us solve those problems. So why not make your website as clear as possible? Stop being cute and clever and be incredibly clear with your visitor. Tell them exactly what you do.

So here are the 3 things that will make or break your homepage header. If you are missing any of the 3, then you are leaving money on the table.

Your website should answer 3 simple questions in the first 5 seconds of the visitor looking at your site.

What do you offer?

Be incredibly clear with as few words as possible. If you are an HVAC company and your service and install heaters and AC units, here is an example of what not to say: “Established in 1972 and serving you for another 50 years”. This is incredibly vague and the visitor has to work very hard to understand what you are saying. Here is a good example to follow: “HVAC Installation and Repair that You Can Count On”. This tells the visitor exactly what you do while speaking to some internal frustration and moves them down the sales process.

How does it make my life better?

The good example above speaks to a better life with “Repair that You Can Count On”. In your headlines, it is important to be crystal clear about how it makes the visitor’s life better. Spell it out for them: “No more unbearable summers,” “No more layering clothing to stay warm”. With this type of imagery, you will paint a picture of how it makes the visitor’s life better.

Where do I click to buy it?

Add 2 call-to-action buttons to the header of your website. The first should be in the top right of the website and the second should be under your main headline. Additionally, your button needs to be a direct call-to-action. Don’t say, “Contact Us”. Use direct phrases like “Call Today” or “Schedule Now”. It might feel pushy to you, but the visitor will never receive it that way. They just want to know what to do next if they are ready to do business with you.

If you look at your website and you are NOT answering these 3 questions, then your website is losing business. Make all of that hard work worth it and double check your header. Your website is too important to be confusing visitors. For a video explanation of this post, watch this video.

BIO

Zach Rinard

Rinard Media

“Most business owners don’t feel confident in their marketing strategies. At Rinard Media, we collaboratively work to build marketing strategies that help them achieve their goals. This frees up business owners to get back to doing what they love. They get more time with their families and ultimately have less stress.”

Three Tips for Creating a Great Online Reputation for Your Plumbing Business

How to Create a Good Online Reputation for Plumbing Business in 3 Easy Steps

In today’s digitally focused world, a business’s online reputation is of utmost importance. Before doing business with a company, almost every customer will go online to learn more about their rates, services and, yes, their customer reviews.

An online reputation is especially important in the plumbing industry. After all, people will be letting workers into their homes to repair vital and expensive pieces of equipment. They want to make sure that the workers are clean and respectful, and that work will be completed successfully and fairly.

There are several things you can do to maintain a good reputation in the plumbing industry. The first of these is to build a strong social media presence.

Social Media

Many people are on social media today. Being present on social media will help people to find your business. Establishing the right kind of profiles will also let your customers know you are trustworthy, credible and have good standing in the industry.

Start by using professional photos that feature your workers and the people behind your company. When people can attach a face to a product, it will make the brand seem more personable and relatable. A great company story can also increase engagement and allow consumers to make a personal connection.

Follow up by engaging in conversations with your customers. Ask for their opinions and respond to their questions and comments. This will show an extra level of customer care.

Post regularly to stay present in the public eye and show that your company is on top of things. Share pictures of jobs that have been completed successfully, and your workers interacting with customers. Post informative blogs on your website and share links on your social media accounts.

Managing Reviews

As much as we would all like to avoid bad reviews, they are likely to occur in any line of business. Sometimes mistakes are made or sometimes you are dealing with a customer that is just having a bad day. Either way, it’s important not to dwell on these mistakes, but to deal with them effectively.

Here are some tips on how to deal with a bad review:

Respond promptly: Never let a review go unanswered. Respond promptly. If you wait too long, your customer may get more upset and the issue could escalate.

Be Polite and Professional: When dealing with a bad review, it’s important not to take things personally. Stay polite and professional and avoid being defensive and insulting. If your communication escalates into an argument, it will look bad for everyone involved.

Take the Matter Offline: It is likely that, for customer complaints to resolve, action will eventually have to be taken offline. You may have to send your customer a coupon or exchange to make things right. If this is the case, be sure to mention that in your online communication so those following the thread will know things are being handled on another level.

Be sure to respond to good reviews as well! Let customers who take the time to write something positive about you know that they are appreciated.

Integrate Reviews on Your Website

You can also use your website to help build your online reputation. The best way to do this is to include customer testimonials in your content. You can also include links to 3rd party reviews that appear on sites like Yelp and Google in the footer of your website. Including these links and testimonials will benefit your business in the following ways:

Conversion Rate Optimization: Customers that see positive customer reviews will be more likely to use your business.

Ethical Link Building: Having quality embedded links on your site can help increase your search engine visibility. The links you include to third party sites on your page can work as quality links while showing your company in the best light.

Rich Snippet Generation: If you use structured data, your reviews will be displayed as part of your Google search results.

SEO: Well reviewed companies are likely to rank higher on search engines.

If you are a plumbing business owner, you know how much your business means to you. Reputation management is vital in helping your company to grow and continue to move forward.  Be sure to do what you can to show your business in the best light, so you can keep those pipes clear for years to come!